Snap, Crackle, Pop

For the past 10 years, my knees have given me problems. Well actually, all of my bones have been achy but me knees have been more vocal than any other part of my body. With each movement, they scream in protest. When I wake up in the morning and swing my legs off the edge of the bed, I sit still for a while, as if to have a pep talk with them. They never listen. As soon as I stand up, they begin their angry shouts of snap, crackle, pop. As they grow accustomed to bearing weight throughout the day, their shouts are reduced to a chatter of crunch, crunch, crunch. I can’t tell you the last time I was able to sneak up on someone. When the kids have been quiet for too long I know they are up to no good, so I tip toe into their rooms. I fully expect to see them coloring on the walls with markers, or grinding play dough into the carpet (because I have cleaned these things, so I know for a fact that someone put them there) yet my tattletale knees warn them of my arrival, giving them ample time to hide their “tools of mass destruction”. Markers have been carefully hidden away and the pot full of water that had become Barbie’s swimming pool has been tucked neatly under the bed. How can I become an effective disciplinarian if I can’t catch the kids in the act of committing a crime?

I think I may have found my solution. Being the hypochondriac that I am, I assumed that my creaky knees were the result of a calcium or vitamin D deficiency. I think I may be on to something. I bought a box of store brand caramel flavored chews with vitamin D and calcium. The box boasted that I could compare them to Viactiv and since they were almost $2 cheaper than the name brand I decided to put them to the test. I have been taking them for 5 days now, two at a time with dinner. This morning I sat up and swung my legs over the edge of the bed, begging my knees not to wake up the cranky 3 year old that climbed into “his” spot between my husband and I. After waiting a few minutes, I stood up. Lo and behold, there was no crackle. Not even so much as a crunch. I walked to the bathroom while listening carefully- nothing. Not a peep. I could hardly contain my excitement as I went from room to room to wake the kids up for school. I am not sure if my joints are feeling happy from the increase in calcium and vitamin D, or my recent weight loss. Maybe it is a combination of the two. I don’t care what brought it about; I just plan to keep on doing what I am doing.

One thought on “Snap, Crackle, Pop

  1. I also have the snap, crackle & pop going on in the knees! Unfortunately, my damage is permanent thanks to over-use when I used to run like a mad woman. I have what is called chondromalacia patella and have tried everything over the counter with no luck stopping the noises. Losing all the baby weight helped the aching, but they still crack and crunch with every little movement.

    Keep doing what you’re doing, obviously it has helped. 🙂

Leave a Reply

