Afsana’s Favorite Things

After reading the current issue of Oprah magazine and drooling over pages and pages of her favorite things, I was inspired to make mention of my favorite things. Of course my situation is a little different. I don’t actually own any of my favorite things…yet. I am hoping that I have a rich uncle out there somewhere who is secretly keeping tabs on me and jumps at the opportunity to fulfill all my wishes. So here goes:

Over the past few years, I have learned to love cooking and baking. The problem is, there aren’t enough eyes on my stove to do what I need to do. See, I plan to become rich one day soon by catering and baking wedding cakes. Laugh if you want, but you’ll wish you had my contact information a few years from now for your little sister’s bridal shower. This La Cornue CornuFé stove is so Julia Childs, and I think it would make my kitchen complete, at least when I have a home with a bigger kitchen. Of course this baby costs $8,600.00, but I am worth every penny.

Well I can’t have that brand new stove without some fly cookware for it, can I? I have had my eye on Le Creuset for the longest time. Currently, all my cookware is nonstick T-Fal stuff and while it is very nice, I am realizing (by watching the Cooking Channel and Food Network) that real cooks just don’t use that stuff. It is all about stainless steel and Dutch ovens.

I am ashamed to admit this as a foodie, but I don’t own a stand mixer. If I did, I could multi task in the kitchen. Making ganache while the cake is mixing could save me a lot of time. A pasta attachment would be great, too.

Did you notice that my first two choices were food related items? Well when you love to cook as much as I do, your body tends to show it. This elliptical would help counter the effects of my kitchen masterpieces. With 4 kids, getting to the gym is close to impossible. Unless I want to go at 4 in the morning which if you ask me, is still technically the middle of the night. Tori, are you reading this? I don’t care how fit and fabulous you look, I am NOT working out in the middle of the night.

Once I get slim and trim by using my elliptical, I will need a new wardrobe. This abaya is one of several that I would like to add to my current collection:

Don’t try and tell me that I can’t be stylish and modest all at the same time. Moving one to my next item…

I am not normally an accessory person, but I am trying to bring out my inner fashionista. The great thing about these bracelets is that they are actually affordable by most people. But when you have multiple kids, you don’t bother buying miscellaneous stuff for yourself because you are always forking over your hard earned cash for your son’s Lego collection, or your daughter’s Barbie supplies. As my daughter told me recently, Barbie must have a car, because how else will she get to work? Apparently Barbie doesn’t get a paycheck, or else she could buy her own damned car. Anywho…

The final item is this Jimmy Choo purse. Any mother knows that no matter how old your children get, you will still need a purse large enough to carry child care items. As independent as my kids like to believe they are, they still need help in the hygriene area. So tissue for boogers, lotion for that ashy ring around the mouth, chapstick for those crusty lips, and a few pockets to hold Hot Wheels and My Little Pony must are a necessity whenever we leave the house. This purse offers the perfect amount of space for their crap as well as mine, and still looks stylish.

This does not complete my list of favorite things, I have simply chosen not to bore you with all 1000 items in one post. Rich uncle, if you are reading this, I would also love a gift certificate to Whole Foods. That stove you just ordered for me deserves to have only the best organic ingredients grace its eyes.

 

5 thoughts on “Afsana’s Favorite Things

  1. Oh sister, you can’t post a picture of a beautiful jilbab like that and not share WHERE CAN I GET ONE!!!

    **also does your Rich uncle need another niece? =D

  2. Great post! I love Whole Foods, but I also refer to it as Whole Paycheck! I always say a gift certificate to that store would put a huge smile on my face!

Leave a Reply

