A Midwinter Night’s Sleep

I know I won’t get a full night of rest
Until my children leave the nest.
People say that I will miss them a heap,
But I look forward to a night of uninterrupted sleep.
My husband can sleep without being disturbed
And I can’t help but feel a little perturbed.
When something goes wrong in the house, you see
It is a common belief that the answer lies with me.
Last night was full of the standard quandaries
With an added dose of tom foolery.
Thing Two was the first to the side of my bed
Remnants of a nightmare stuck in his head.
His soft brown eyes were wide with fear
Relaxing only when I held him near.
Jellybean was the next to grace my side
His glowing yellow eyes open wide
He meowed in my ear until I sat up
Apparently he spilled the water in his cup.
I snatched the covers off in a huff
Cursing as I tripped over random stuff
“Dammit, Jellybean!” I angrily spat.
“Why can’t you drink from the toilet like a normal cat?”
I refilled his cup and laid back down,
Only to see my husband’s face creased with a frown.
He shivered, tangled up in the bed sheet.
“Will you please turn up the heat?”
My shoulders hunched over in defeat
As I stood back up on my weary feet.
I hastily turned up the thermostat
Then I felt a small hand pat me on the back.
My little linebacker looked up at me
His pajama pants soaked with pee
“Sorry, Mom,” he said, hanging his head.
I pulled the wet sheets off of his bed.
Ran some water and put him in the tub
Then gave his head a gentle rub
“It’s okay, sweetie,” I said, and hummed his favorite song
I can’t stay mad at my babies for long.
Half an hour later, he was dry and clean
And dressed in pajamas of yellow and green.
I laid him down on my side of the bed
And planted a kiss on top of his head.
“Mom, my cheeseburger!” I heard Thing One scream
In reaction to some crazy dream
I sat on her bed and rubbed her arm
Wondering how cheeseburgers could do her harm.
Finally, I sat in a dining room chair
Running my fingers through my hair
With only one hour left before I had to start my day,
I put my head down on the table and fell asleep that way.

3 thoughts on “A Midwinter Night’s Sleep

Leave a Reply

