Tom Foolery Tuesday: Airing My Dirty Laundry

I was in Walmart recently, and came across enough material for Tom Foolery Tuesday to cover a month of Sundays. But I don’t want my blog to be solely about Walmart. I feel like I give them enough free publicity as it is. But where else would I get stories to share? As I sat and thought about it, it dawned on me that I have a good amount of tom foolery in my own home pretty regularly. With a husband and four children, there is never a shortage of things going terribly wrong. I will warm you though: if you are especially sensitive, or have an aversion to TMI, you may want to click away from this page.

Laundry in my house is a never ending task. I think the kids secretly change clothes throughout the day when I am not looking just because they hate to see the hamper empty. I even find doll clothes and stuffed animals. A few days ago I was putting some whites in the washing machine when I came across a pair of Thing One’s underwear. And there was no way I was touching them with my bare hands. I grabbed a pencil and used the tip of it to pick up the drawers, and then went off to locate the offender. Now the twins have been potty trained for quite a while, and I spent a LOT of time teaching them how to clean their behinds properly, mainly to avoid situations such as this. But somehow I failed, and proper wiping technique had not been implemented.

When I found Thing One (swinging from a sheet that she tied to the top shelf in her closet), I showed her the underwear immediately. There was no need for me to ask my question, the drawers spoke for themselves. She looked at her feet sheepishly for a moment, and then a slight smile crossed her face as she offered her explanation: “I was farting at school and I didn’t know that doo-doo juice was coming out at the same time.” I exhaled and quickly ran back to the laundry room to keep from laughing in front of her. So I had not failed at potty training completely, I just forgot to warn about the possibility of extreme bubble guts.

3 thoughts on “Tom Foolery Tuesday: Airing My Dirty Laundry

  1. Bahahahahaha! I remember when my kids were young enough (and cute enough) for things like that to make me laugh. Now, they’re teenagers (approaching adulthood rapidly), and I almost (*almost*) miss those times. Thanks for sharing yours!

Leave a Reply

