Caffeine and Cookies

I would like to start this post off by mentioning how much I dislike people who steal the peelie coupons off of products they aren’t buying. If you happen to be one of these people, stop this shameful activity. It is wrong, wrong, wrong. I went to Publix today to hurry up and catch a Bogo sale before the new one starts tomorrow, and almost missed out on an amazing deal, thanks to rotten peelie thieves.

I was fortunate enough to find Eight O’Clock coffee that was on sale Buy One, Get One Free at $6.54. I had two coupons for $2 off of two bags, so I ended up getting four bags for $9.08. But that isn’t where the goodness ends. Each coffee bag had a peelie on it for a free bag of Pepperidge Farms Milano cookies. I know, I really don’t have any business with all those cookies. But how could I pass up such an offer, when those cookies are normally $3.49 a bag? I had to dig deep for coffee that still had coupons attached. Can you believe someone went so far as to rip a bag trying to get the coupon off? Bastards. Rat bastards.

My next stop was Walmart, where I grabbed 6 packs of Carefree Pantiliners, a pack of Expo Black Markers, and a pack of Ivory soap. Everything was free with the coupon wit the exception of my Olay Regenerist cleanser. It was originally $5.97 each, but two coupons for $3 off made them $5.94 altogether. As the cashier was ringing out my order, she asked: “so you want this stuff for free?”. Umm, yes. That’s the idea.

I stopped at Walgreens, where I bought 2 tubes of Colgate Total Toothpaste. They were on sale 2 for $6, but I had a coupon for $1 off. That transaction gave me $4 in register rewards. The second transaction consisted of 4 bottles of Lysol Toilet Bowl Cleaner (this is necessary in Florida, where the mineral content in our water is insane) and a container of Domino sugar. The toilet bowl cleaner was on sale BOGO at $2.99, and I had four coupons for 75 cents off each one. The sugar was on sale for $1.29 and my subtotal was $4.27, so I used my register rewards from the previous transaction to pay for most of it.

I spent $14.35 for everything. Not too bad, considering that I am still trying to master the ins and outs of it all. Keep in mind that the amounts I mention are subtotals. Coupons are subtracted after tax has already been factored in, so you still have to pay tax on your purchases. It still ends up being a heck of a savings, though. Tomorrow is the start of the new sale at Publix, and rumor has it that Seventh Generation dish soap will be a BOGO. I’ll be ready, with my coupons in hand.

2 thoughts on “Caffeine and Cookies

  1. I agree, the people that still the peelies are bad. 🙂
    You are making me want to get back into couponing. I may have to get a paper this weekend.

Leave a Reply

