Patience Pays Off

Since I am recovering from the stomach virus from hell, I didn’t get a lot of shopping done this week. And processed foods are the predominant items this week. I just don’t feel like cooking. Cooking is usually very therapeutic for me. No matter what kind of day I have had, getting in my kitchen and whipping up a roasted chicken really makes my day. That’s how I know I am really sick.

But a stomach bug can’t completely stop the show. I just about kicked myself in the behind for using my $1 off of 1 coupons for Ronzoni Garden Delight pasta at Walmart. It went on sale this week as a BOGO at Publix. I did manage to get my hands on some printable coupons for $1 off of two, so I was somewhat happy. This is a lesson learned, though. Hold on to those coupons! If you use them on a product at regular price, it is guaranteed to go on sale the following week. That is obviously some unspoken law of couponing, I have found. Anyway, I grabbed 14 boxes of pasta and while that normally would have set me back $26.46, I paid $6.23.

The Tollhouse Cookie Dough was a nice find. I wanted to have friends over and make ice cream sandwiches with all the Breyers that I bought last week, and decided to do it with cookies. Once my husband gets ahold of the cookies though, I may need to change my plans.The cookie dough sells for $3.39 at Publix, but was a BOGO this week. I used stacked printable coupons for $1.50 off of two with Publix coupons for 55 cents off of one and instead of paying $27.12 for eight packs, the cookie dough cost me $3.16. I think I might be getting the hang of this.

The Lunchables (hey, the kids are fending for themselves for a while) were on sale at Winn Dixie for $2, and I had coupons for $1 off each one.

The Method dish detergent is regularly $3.99 at Publix, but it was on sale 2 for $5 this week. I had two coupons from Whole Foods for $1 off each, so I ended up getting them for $1.50 apiece.

I still need to get Cheerios in the morning, which are a BOGO this week. If my stomach is still protesting its own existence, Lunchables may very well be breakfast.

2 thoughts on “Patience Pays Off

  1. Stomach Virus’ are THE worse. Sometimes it is worse than childbirth at least you can get an epidural during birth. With a stomach virus you just have to lay there and bear it. I am glad you are getting better.

Leave a Reply

