Finally Went Shopping Yesterday

I don’t normally buy Tide because it is pretty expensive. With a family of six, I wash about 10 loads of clothing, towels and linens each week. That means that I need to find the best deal I possibly can on laundry detergent, and I can’t be very picky about the brands I use. I was really excited to find 40 load boxes of Tide on sale at CVS this week for only $5.99. I double checked the price at Walmart just to be sure I was really getting the best deal. The same box sells there for $7.97, so I didn’t bother to look any further. I had some coupons for $3 off that were burning a hole in my binder. I was not willing to let them expire on me. Not to mention, I am down to 6 bottles of Purex. Afraid of letting my stock dip down to a dangerously low quantity, I headed to CVS. The normal price for Tide there is $12.99 a box. For the four boxes I purchased, I would have spent $51.96 at CVS (which is insane), or $31.88 at Walmart. Combining the sale with coupons and some ECB’s (Extra Care Bucks) that I needed to spend soon, I paid $5.96 before taxes. If that isn’t one heck of a savings, I am not sure what is.

I also had some coupons for Sabra Hummus, which is on sale as a BOGO this week at Publix for $3.99. Sabra is the only store bought hummus that will ever grace my fridge so I was thankful for the opportunity to stock up. I had 20 coupons for it, but there is no way I would have been able to justify spending so much on hummus, no matter how delectable it is. I grabbed six containers and combined with 6 coupons for $1 off each, I spent a total of $5.94. Now to go to my favorite farm store for some crudités. That will be another blog post one day.

My husband has gotten me on a supplement kick and I have to be honest, I feel much better than I used to. I am currently taking a multi vitamin, Vitamin D3, and Biotin. Supplements can be pricey, though. I was excited to see that Publix had a coupon for $6 off of any Sundown brand supplements. Combined with my coupons for $3 off of two, these were free. If it is free, it is for me.

Recycle bank is an awesome source for coupons that I stumbled upon while checking out a fellow blogger’s site. You basically check out videos and slide shows giving you information on how to make the world a better place via recycling, and in return you earn points that you can use to “buy” coupons. I snagged a coupon for $2 off any Kashi item. Since these bars were on sale for $2.99 at Publix, I only paid 99 cents for them. You will NEVER see Kashi products that cheap.

I don’t always buy lots of treats, but I do from time to time. Pepperidge Farms goldfish crackers were on sale as this week for $1. I had coupons for 55 cents off and intended to buy only two, but found a peelie on a package for 75 cents off of another two. I ended up paying 54 cents per bag.

And since my oldest son eats mustard on any and everything, I can never have too much. This was a BOGO at Publix for $1.99 and I had two coupons for 30 cents off each. Each bottle was 70 cents. Not a huge savings, but a savings nonetheless.

Duncan Hines Decadent Brownies were a BOGO at $2.69, and I had coupons for .50 off each box. I also had a coupon that granted me a free box of premium brownies for every two Duncan Hines products I purchased. After all was said and done, each of the three boxes of brownies cost 56 cents.

All in all, my coupon purchases cost me $18.14.

Leave a Reply

