Long Time Coming

This post really has been a long time coming. I have not made mention of groceries in a few weeks because as I mentioned previously, my keyboard has mood swings. Trying to post anything at all usually results in a nightmare of copying and pasting letters that I happen to come across. My keyboard is behaving for the moment, so I am taking advantage of that and giving you a couple of weeks worth of grocery shopping all in one post. I know, seeing what was on sale two weeks ago does not benefit you a whole lot. At least you can use the information to help you figure out how to get the most bang for your buck by combining sales with coupons.

The week before last, the biggest deal I got was on Cascadian Farms cereal and granola bars. They both usually sell for $3.99 at Publix, but were on sale for $2.69 that week. I had manufacturer’s coupons for $1.00 off, which I stacked with Whole Foods coupons for $1.00 off. I ended up paying only 69 cents for each box.

The Method dish soap was on sale again and since I love this stuff, I snagged a few more bottles. Normally priced at $3.99 (what is it with Publix’s fascination with that number?), it was on sale for $2.50 per bottle. I combined manufacturer’s coupons for $1.00 off with Whole Foods coupons for $1.00, paying only 50 cents per bottle.

I know I promised my husband that I would not purchase another razor (and he almost had a heart attack when he saw these), but they were hard to resist. At least I only bought two packs. These Noxema razors were a BOGO for $4.99, and I had two MFC’s for $2.00 each. In the end, I paid 49 cents per pack. My grand total that day was $7.13.

The following week, I lucked up on a BOGO on Morningstar Farms products. They are normally priced at $4.19, but I had MFC’s for $1.00 off each, which I combined with Target coupons for $1.00 off of two. The ten boxes I purchased cost me a grand total of $5.95, a savings of $35.95.I want to mention though that those riblets are NASTY. Just wrong on so many levels. I would rather not have texture in the consistency of rubber bands added in so I could feel as though I am really eating pork riblets instead of veggie ones. Blech!

I promise not to let too much time go by without another couponing post!

Leave a Reply

