Rebuilding My Stockpile

It has been a long time since I really did any shopping, relying heavily on my stockpile. My husband insisted that we work through some of the stuff we had so that food didn’t end up going bad. When my son informed me that we were down to our last box of cereal, I knew I had to take action. Since Ramadan is upon is and my husband, oldest son, and I are fasting from sunrise to sunset, we are consuming a lot less food than we usually do. That is still no excuse not to take advantage of some good sales.

Since I am preparing Suhoor (the meal we eat prior to beginning our fast for the day) for more than just myself, cereal and milk won’t do. What I eat varies, depending on what I am in the mood for, and how early I can drag myself out of bed. This morning, we had cheese eggs with pancakes courtesy of the Batter Blaster. Batter blaster is an organic pancake mix that comes in an aerosol can similar to the one you can buy whipped cream in. The pancakes aren’t quite as good as the ones I normally make from scratch, but not bad, either. And I love the fact that I don’t have to go through much trouble to whip them up, and then clean up a huge mess afterwards. I normally don’t believe in buying these kinds of convenience products, but they were a BOGO this week at Publix for $4.19. I had Whole Foods coupons for $3 off of two, so I grabbed six cans at 59 cents each.

As I mentioned, we were in dire need of cereal. All Post brands were a BOGO for $3.99 and since I had coupons for $1 off of two, I grabbed four boxes. No healthy cereal this week, unfortunately. But I was curious about this Churros business, so I couldn’t resist that..

I had coupons for Seattle’s Best Iced coffees and they were set to expire on the 7th of this month. I was on pins and needles waiting for a chance to take advantage of them. The 4-pack is on sale for $4.49, and my coupon was for $2 off. I have 7 more coupons, so we will be drinking plenty of this stuff. By the way, if you bake a butter recipe chocolate cake, it is quite tasty if you poke some holes into it, and pour some of this stuff over the top. I prefer to mix the Seattle’s best with a cup of evaporated milk, half a cup of heavy cream and half a cup of sweetened condensed milk. I guess you can call it my own take on Tres Leches cake. After letting it sit in the fridge overnight, spread some whipped cream over the top and sprinkle with toasted coconut or toasted almond slices. Can you tell the sun is up and I am fasting?

I love Tazo tea, but was sad that I couldn’t find Wild Sweet Orange, which is my favorite flavor in the whole world. Calm is a nice flavor, though. It is on sale for $2.99 and I had a coupon for $1 off. The register wouldn’t accept the coupon and the witch of a cashier could have put it in manually, but chose not to. I went straight to customer service, where I was credited back the dollar without any trouble.

Good Life cat food is usually pretty pricey, so I don’t every buy it. Except for yesterday, since it was on sale for $3.50. I had a coupon for $1 off. I will probably go back to grab more, because that is a price I can’t refuse.

The Skippy peanut butter was my favorite deal. It was a BOGO for $2.43 and I had coupons for $1 off of each. The problem was that I only had three coupons. When I bought my newspapers on Sunday, I made the mistake of not checking for coupons in each one. Out of 4 newspapers, I had three sets of coupons. It was still a nice deal even with only three coupons. I ended up paying 46 cents per jar. When there are four children around, you can never have too much peanut butter.

The Cottonelle was a $5 deal at Walgreens and I happened to have a coupon for $1 off. Not too bad for 12 rolls of tissue. I could kick myself for missing out on a Saturday-only deal that offered $5 in Register Rewards if you Purchased two. I won’t let that mistake happen again!

I happened to also have an Albertson’s coupon for $5 off any purchase of $25 or more, which I stacked with a Publix coupon for $30 or more. I handed those to the cashier first so they could be credited prior to the coupon credits. After all was said and done, my trip between the two stores cost me less than $12. With the combination of sales and coupons, that was a total savings of over $58.

2 thoughts on “Rebuilding My Stockpile

  1. Hey! Someone in my Facebook group shared this site with us so I came to look it over.

    I’m definitely enjoying the information.
    I’m bookmarking and will be tweeting this to my followers!

    Great blog and terrific design and style.

Leave a Reply

