The Unexpected Sequel

I really didn’t expect to go shopping again before Thursday, but sometimes I forget how much food four children can eat. During Ramadan, we normally go through considerably less food but it appears that I underestimated our grocery needs a little. With so many years of fasting under my belt (this happens to be year number 19), you would think I could prepare better.

 

Since I had two Publix coupons for $5 off any purchase of $30 or more and two Albertsons coupons for $5 off any purchase of $25 or more, I broke my trip into two transaction to get the most bang for my buck. Publix happened to have a deal that almost got away from me. This week, you have the ability to earn a $10 Publix or Amazon gift card by purchasing $30 in groceries, of which $15 must consist of Con Agra products. My Publix tried to be sneaky and not publicize this, so I actually had to ask for the mail in form (which happens to have coupons for Con Agra products attached to it) at the customer service desk. And the guy behind the counter seemed to have a hard time parting with the flyer. My first transaction consisted of:

 

(4) boxes of Marie Callander chicken and turkey pot pies, which were a BOGO for $7.49. I had one coupon for $1 off, so the pot pies were $13.98.

(4) cans of Chef Boyardee at 89 cents each, with a coupon for $1 off three. Yes, I still bought 4.

(4) boxes of Cocoa Pebbles cereal, which was a BOGO for $3.99. I had two coupons for $1 off of two boxes

(6) Larabars, which were on sale for $1 each. I used three Whole Foods coupons for $1 off of two

The total after coupons for this transaction was $15.52

 

My second transaction was:

(4) six-packs of V8 Fusion juice, which were on sale for $3 each. I had 4 coupons for $1 off.

(4) Pillsbury Sweet Moments, which are like little brownie bites with caramel or chocolate inside. They were on sale for $2.50, and I had coupons for $1 off each one.

(4) boxes of chewy granola bars, which were a BOGO for $3.99. I used two Target coupons for $1 off of two boxes.

(2) half gallon cartons of almond milk @ $3.49 each. I had two coupons for 55 cents off each. Not a huge deal, but I buy almond milk whether or not it is on sale.

The total for that transaction after coupons was $13.86.

 

We ran out of lotion a few weeks ago, and I refused to buy any more until I found a good sale. We were a really ashy group of folks for a while. Thankfully, CVS came to the rescue with a BOGO deal on Dial lotion. I didn’t have a  coupon, but I did have $2 in ECB’s which were applied towards the purchase. The two bottles cost me $4.99 before tax.

 

Leave a Reply

