Funky Places

Tom Foolery Tuesday has all but bitten the dust. It isn’t due to a lack of tom foolery in my life. It is because there are only so many TMI episodes that any reader can stomach. I’d prefer not to embarrass my family here, so I try to keep things as clean as possible. But if I ever decided to go the dirty route, oh boy. There would be plenty to talk about.

And yes, I know today isn’t Tuesday. But I am banned from work because of a fever and am bored out of my mind. And my tonsils are swollen, so chatting on the phone is pretty much out of the question. Anyhow, on to the point of this post.

My husband and I are big on raising independent children. We taught all of them to wash themselves in the shower once they turned five years old. Sometimes the shower is a success, other times, not so much. I don’t know what it is with kids and their resistance when it comes to hygiene. Every night, we have the same arguments. “Why do we have to take baths every day?” “Can’t I just wash my face?” No. Because we live in Florida, where it is a hundred degrees outside until November. And you all smell like puppies.

They have tried every form of evasion in the book. Many times, they turn the water on without actually getting into the shower. I caught onto this fairly quickly, and perform sniff tests after each shower. It’s sad that it has come to that point but despite the fact that they have come to expect this test, I still get a nose full of unpleasantness from time to time.

Since Little Linebacker is almost five, my husband decided to allow him to wash himself under supervision. “Now soap up the washcloth,” my husband instructed. “Okay,” replied Little Linebacker. “But I am just gonna wash my booty, cuz that’s the only thing that stinks.” For the first time, I was actually thankful for the fever that relieved me from shower duty.

Leave a Reply

Funky Places

Tom Foolery Tuesday has all but bitten the dust. It isn’t due to a lack of tom foolery in my life. It is because there are only so many TMI episodes that any reader can stomach. I’d prefer not to embarrass my family here, so I try to keep things as clean as possible. But if I ever decided to go the dirty route, oh boy. There would be plenty to talk about.

And yes, I know today isn’t Tuesday. But I am banned from work because of a fever and am bored out of my mind. And my tonsils are swollen, so chatting on the phone is pretty much out of the question. Anyhow, on to the point of this post.

My husband and I are big on raising independent children. We taught all of them to wash themselves in the shower once they turned five years old. Sometimes the shower is a success, other times, not so much. I don’t know what it is with kids and their resistance when it comes to hygiene. Every night, we have the same arguments. “Why do we have to take baths every day?” “Can’t I just wash my face?” No. Because we live in Florida, where it is a hundred degrees outside until November. And you all smell like puppies.

They have tried every form of evasion in the book. Many times, they turn the water on without actually getting into the shower. I caught onto this fairly quickly, and perform sniff tests after each shower. It’s sad that it has come to that point but despite the fact that they have come to expect this test, I still get a nose full of unpleasantness from time to time.

Since Little Linebacker is almost five, my husband decided to allow him to wash himself under supervision. “Now soap up the washcloth,” my husband instructed. “Okay,” replied Little Linebacker. “But I am just gonna wash my booty, cuz that’s the only thing that stinks.” For the first time, I was actually thankful for the fever that relieved me from shower duty.

Leave a Reply

