Vampires, Werewolves and Brownies…Oh My!

This post actually should have happened about two weeks ago, but better late than never. As many of you know, Breaking Dawn premiered on the 18th of November. For those of you who are unfamiliar with the movie, it happens to be the fourth installment in the Twilight Saga. I loved it, but I love all things Twilight. This post isn’t about Twilight, though.

One of my closest friends lives just over an hour away in Tampa, where they happen to have a pretty cool dine-in theater called Cinebistro. More on that later. I arrived there before noon and I was starving because I neglected to eat breakfast. Thankfully, there was a Thai restaurant nearby with great prices. BFF and I walked there shortly after I arrived. This was actually my first time at the restaurant, so I wasn’t sure what to expect. It wasn’t very fancy, you could tell it was a small family owned place. But the food was amazing. As an appetizer, I ordered some curried sweet potato puffs. They were served along with some sort of chopped cucumber salad. It didn’t look like it would be very flavorful, but it was absolutely amazing. I didn’t want to overeat, so I just had the appetizer along with tom kom gai, which is a coconut broth soup with mushrooms, chicken, tomatoes and lemongrass. Mmmmm….

Afterwards, BFF suggested pedicures. Now, I hadn’t had one of those bad boys in about three years. I was nervous about putting someone to work on my feet, whose soles were so crusty that they could seriously injure someone. But I agreed to the pedicure, nonetheless. As I sat in the chair, the poor woman who was assigned to my feet sat down and smiled. I waited for that smile to disappear once she saw what she was in for, but she managed to keep it in place the entire time. While BFF had already made it to the nail polishing stage, I was still having crust scrapped off of my heels with a metal shank. Okay, maybe not a shank. I took before and after pictures, but those will never be shown here. It’s just too embarrassing. While I was supposed to be relaxing, I received a call from my husband, who said the children all missed me terribly and wanted to talk to me. They passed the phone back and forth, each expressing the sorrow they felt when they saw me leave with my suitcase. I smiled and thought about how fortunate I was to have a family that loved me so much. Then I closed my eyes and enjoyed the rest of my pedicure. When all was said and done, my feet actually looked like they belonged to a human being instead of a chimpanzee. The overworked woman seated at the base of my chair massaged her hands. She looked relieved when the owner of the salon offered her the rest of the day off. She deserved it. And I was told that I owed her a new pair of hands.

Walking on my newly pedicured feet, we walked back to BFF’s apartment to relax, and then we headed to Greenwise Market, which is a subsidiary of Publix. Can I tell you how jealous I am that Greenwise doesn’t exist in Orlando? We weren’t allowed to take pictures inside, but I’ll do my best to share the experience with you. We parked in a multi-level parking garage, so we actually had to take an escalator down into the store. As soon as I set eyes on the inside, I could hear angels singing and harps playing. It looked like Publix and Whole Foods got together and gave birth to the most beautiful baby in the world. The patisserie(yes, they had a friggin patisserie!) was full of selections. They even had cannolis! And the shells were fresh! Lord, have mercy. The display of fruit was unlike anything I had ever seen. A store with its very own farmer’s market. They even had an entire section of natural medicine. After BFF got all the fixings she was going to need for her Thanksgiving dinner, we headed back to her place to kill time before the movie.

So about Cinebistro. You have to be 21 or older to get in, courtesy of the full service bar inside. I don’t drink alcohol, but I’m a little offended that no one felt the need to check my ID. Surely, I don’t look that old. Anyhow, the theater was absolutely beautiful. It was all decked out like a real wedding reception, with cloth-covered tables that each held a flowered centerpiece, and a big wedding cake in the center. The infamous “twinkle” lights cascaded from the ceiling, pulling the look together beautifully. If I didn’t know any better, I would have thought Alice Cullen had a hand in the decorating. I could kick myself for not bringing my camera along.

The aisles were nice and wide, with big leather seats. Each seat had a dining tray attached to the side of it that could be pulled around front for dining purposes. There was a special wedding menu created just for the occasion, which was a really nice touch. Kudos to whoever was in charge of the overall movie experience at Cinebistro. I ordered blackened mahi-mahi served on a bed of coleslaw, which I dripped all over my dress in typical Afsana fashion. There was a side of sweet potato fries, which are one of my favorite foods in the whole world. The meal would have been complete if only I had honey to dip the fries into. Oh well.

The next day, we went to Sophie’s, which is a cute French bakery in Hyde Park. I had a salted caramel brownie with peppermint hot chocolate. No pic of the brownie, because I gobbled it up before I could even think to take the camera out of my purse. Some blogger I am.

Unlike many places in Florida, Hyde Park is super friendly to walkers. There are sidewalks on every street, and people put them to good use. Hopefully I can go back soon to window shop. Now I don’t celebrate Christmas, but I had to get a pic of this tree:

I rode home in total bliss after my visit, and plan to make it a regular thing.

3 thoughts on “Vampires, Werewolves and Brownies…Oh My!

  1. I almost felt like I was there with you the way you write! And all of a sudden I woke up and – no Thai, no Cinebistro, certainly no manicure..or XL-Christmas tree..sigh..

    Greenwise Market sounds like heaven on earth to me!

    (DD would love to watch the new Twilight movie, but I’ve heard it’s some *hot* scenes in that movie..too hot for a 13 yrs old..? I’m the straight mum, I better watch myself it first..)

    (kris10)

    • Thanks for reading, Kris! Green Market really is like heaven on earth. I loved it! As for the movie, it’s hard for me to make the call for someone else’s kids. The scenes were tastefully done in my opinion, though. They were suggestive enough for you know something was happening, but you didn’t really see it happening, you know what I mean?

  2. Ok..I better see that movie first (I’m the overprotecting kind’a mum you know..)

    Going to a Christmas Market today..small, old fashion market, but it’s at the local “Farmers School” so they do produce all the veggies and handcraft themselves. Closest I will get to a green market..

    Have a nice weekend!

Leave a Reply

