Getting Fancy

I have been slacking with my couponing. Big time. Things were so bad that after having gone through the weeks and weeks worth of inserts I had stacked on m desk, only half of them were usable. The rest were expired. I did manage to find some pretty good deals at Publix this week. I was lured in by the sweet potato sale, but a few other things caught my eye as well.

I think today was the first time I ever had a negative experience at Publix. I ventured to a that I don’t normally go to, and it turned out to be a disaster. I try to be a good couponer. I really do. But I have a limit to my patience just like anyone else. I lined all my goodies up on the belt and went to hand the coupons to the cashier, who insisted on waiting until the transaction was complete to take them. So after ringing every thing up (including charging me for an extra package of napkins), she went through the coupons meticulously. I knew I was in for it. “You have two of these coupons”, she said, referring to my $1 off of two boxes of Keebler cookies or crackers coupon. “I know,” I responded. “I have four boxes.” She looked at my cart skeptically, and had the gall to ask me if I was sure about that, because she didn’t remember ringing up that many. I gave a sympathetic smile to the poor woman in line behind me as I removed boxes of crackers and bags of hash browns that Jennette (Cashier from Hell) had bagged up only three minutes ago.

After making sure that each item in my bags corresponded with the items shown on the cash register screen, Jennette was satisfied. I paid for my order, and swore never to frequent that Publix again.

The sparkling water was photographed first, otherwise I would never have gotten a picture of it. We drink this stuff like it’s going out of style. They were a BOGO, normally 99 cents apiece. I grabbed four and used two coupons for $1 off, which made them free.

The Keebler Multi-Grain Club crackers were a BOGO at $3.89, and I had two manufacturer’s coupons for $1 off two that I stacked with two Target coupons for $1 off two.

The hash browns could have been a sweeter deal, had someone not swiped one of the Smartsource inserts from one of my papers. I should know better than to leave out of the store without checking my newspapers thoroughly. Anyhow, The Ore Ida hash browns were a BOGO at $3.89. I grabbed four and used two manufacturer’s coupons for $1.50 off of two, which I stacked with one Target coupon for $1.50 off of three.

The Chinet napkins were a BOGO at $2.15, and I had two coupons for 75 cents off each. That made the final price 33 cents apiece.

Mueller’s whole grain pasta was a BOGO at $1.57, and I used two coupons for 75 cents off.

The 4Grain eggs were on sale for $2 each(usually $2.69), and I used two coupons for 35 cents off.

I have been wanting to try Marie’s yogurt dressing, and finally have the chance.  It was on sale 2/$4. I bought two, and used two coupons for $1 off.

Alouette spreadable cheese was an unadvertised BOGO at $5.49, and I had two coupons for $1 off. I NEVER buy such frivolous things normally, but thought I would splurge since I had so many boxes of crackers.

I didn’t have coupons for any of the produce, but I thought it was still worth mentioning. The fresh green beans were 99 cents a pound. My final price for two bags was $1.86. I could kick myself for not grabbing more. Fresh Express bagged salad was a BOGO at $3.99.

Last but certainly not least, sixteen pounds of my kids’ favorite vegetable in the world: sweet potatoes. All for a whopping $6.24. Tomorrow, they will be back up to 99 cents a pound. *insert sad face*

Without sale prices and coupons, this grocery order would have cost me $88.56. By combining sales and coupons, I paid a total of $26.78. That makes for a savings of $61.78!

 

2 thoughts on “Getting Fancy

  1. Wow! That’s some amazing savings! I really would love to do the coupon thing, but I don’t have the patience for it. It looks like it really pays off though!

    Sweet potatoes are my daughter’s favorite. I don’t think she cares how I cook it, as long as its on the table (that and okra).

    • My kids are not always big on veggies, so I take advantage of the ones they actually do like. For a long time, I hated Fall because all my favorite Summer fruits were out of season. Now that I have learned to love root veggies (and the fact that summertime in Florida feels like someone left the gates of Hades open), I look forward to Fall.

Leave a Reply

