Cheese, Glorious Cheese

Finally, a coupon post! I have not stopped couponing, just haven’t had much time to tell you all about my shopping trips. I got pretty good cheese deals this week though, so I thought I would fill you all in. Publix had all Kraft cheese on sale for 50% off, which was a serious steal. Even if you didn’t have coupons for that sale, you could make out like a fat rat.

The Kraft First Taste is actually pretty good, especially when you are not completely sure what to make for dinner. I took another blogger’s advice and dipped my chicken in beaten egg first, then battered it. It was a huge hit with the husband and kids. The regular price is $2.99, but was $1.49 on sale. I had Publix printable BOGO coupons, which I stacked with manufacturer’s printable coupons for $1.00 off of two. Eight packages cost me $2!

I also had printable coupons for $1 off of any brick of cheese (1 pound or larger, valid in Florida only), which I used on the cheddar. This is the only cheese I use when making macaroni and cheese and each one pound brick of it normally costs $6.95 each at Publix. On sale, each brick was $3.47 so after coupons, I paid $4.94 for both.

Voskos Greek yogurt was on sale for $1 each, and I had manufacturer’s coupons for $1 off of three, which I stacked with the coupons from the Yellow Advantage flyer for $1 off of three. 6 cups cost me $2.

I had never tried Van’s waffles before, and I don’t normally bother with trying new stuff until it goes on sale. These are normally $3.15 a box, but were a BOGO this week. I had Whole Foods coupons for $1 off of two, so I bought 6 boxes for $6.45. Without the sale and coupons, those waffles would have cost me $18.90. That’s a lot of money for waffles!

Altogether I paid $15.39 for my order. Without sale prices and coupons, everything would have cost me $62.72. That was a savings of $47.33. Of course I bought meat and produce, but the purpose of this post is to show how much you can save by combining sales with coupons. The current sale at Publix is pretty impressive as well, so I can’t wait to get shopping so I can bring you another post!

Leave a Reply

