Suhoor For Iftaar

I always use the excuse of being busy for not preparing elaborate meals during the week. That should mean that my weekends are open for experimentation, right? Not really. The weekends are full of laundry that didn’t get washed and folded during the week, bathrooms that need scrubbing, and crayon murals that need to be painted over. As much as I love cooking, sometimes I just don’t feel like it. And sometimes I get sucked into the black hole that is Pinterest and can’t seem to pull myself out of it. That was my story for this weekend.

This pin describes my addiction pretty accurately.

I’ll admit that I have a problem. I sit down at my desk intending to take just a quick peek before tackling my “to do” list, but that quick peek turns into an hour-long gawk and drool session. Thankfully, my family actually benefits from my Pinteresting once in a while. Yesterday for example, I was really in a food rut. I came across this quick and easy recipe and knew what I was making: breakfast for dinner.

I modified the recipe a little because I didn’t have any sausage, and wasn’t about to pay four dollars for a toddler-sized box of turkey sausage crumbles. What I did happen to have were twelve packages of turkey bacon, which I scored for 45 cents per pack. No, I didn’t use all twelve packs. One happened to be enough. I took a  9 x 13 pan and rolled a can of crescent rolls in the bottom. I topped it with turkey bacon that I cooked and crumbled. I also had a package of sliced baby bella mushrooms, which I roasted and sprinkled on top to add bulk. On top of that went shredded cheddar and asiago, then five eggs that I had beaten a quarter of a cup of milk into. I popped it in a 400 degree oven for 20 minutes and served it up with a side of fruit salad. I never thought I could make everyone so happy with such a simple meals, but I ended up having to whip up a second casserole because everyone’s stomachs had become bottomless pits that night.

As usual, my photography skills leave a lot to be desired. But you get the general idea here.

2 thoughts on “Suhoor For Iftaar

Leave a Reply

