Can We Build It? Yes, We Can!

 

Trying to find an inexpensive way to entertain four children during the weekend is no easy feat. Living in Florida makes it even more difficult, in my opinion. Everything is centered on theme parks, or other attractions with a hefty ticket price attached. After doing some digging online, I did come across a few options that I thought the children might enjoy. One of them was the Build and Grow workshop at Lowe’s.

I debated partaking in this activity for a really long time. When Lowe’s caved in to the pressure from a radical religious group and opted to pull their advertising from All American Muslim on The Learning Channel, it put a bad taste in my mouth. The fact that the organization responsible for initiating this “boycott” was appalled by the lack of terrorists represented on the show was hilarious to me. Apparently the Taliban missed the casting call, so only normal Muslims were represented on the show. The group claimed that showing only normal Muslims downplayed the danger that the religion presents as a whole. Anyone who gets their news from a certain hateful radio talk show host would be inclined to agree. The rest of us know that every group has its nut cases on the fringes and that those nut cases by no means represent the entire group. Anyhow, I digress.

I ultimately decided that I couldn’t go down the rabbit hole with regards to every single incident like this, or else I would be living in a compound and weaving my own cotton in an attempt to avoid all the folks that I suspect wish harm on me. I am willing to bet that pretty much every major company in this country employs someone who isn’t fond of Muslims, the same way they employ people who aren’t fond of followers of other religions. While I prefer Home Depot to Lowe’s when it comes to selection, I have never been treated with anything other than top notch customer service when I have visited Lowe’s  Therefore, I decided to go ahead and bring the children to participate in the workshop.

I wish I had remembered to bring my camera the first time we went to a workshop. The kids had a blast building Shrek onion carriages, with a little assistance from my husband and I. My husband probably required more assistance than the children did, and destroyed three building kits before getting the project right. This time around, the children built fire trucks without any complications. They all turned out nicely, and they were entertained for over an hour with no cost to me. Everyone received a cute little Lowe’s apron, except for Viejito. I’ll make a nice plain denim one for him, though. Everyone gets patches to iron onto the aprons for each completed project, and a set of child-sized goggles.

 

 

 

 

Everyone had such a good time that I went ahead and registered us for the next workshop. Stay tuned!

3 thoughts on “Can We Build It? Yes, We Can!

  1. Glad that everyone had a good time. I love that it was hands on, and everyone got to do something. I’m looking forward to the next installment.

Leave a Reply

