Oven Ready

I never thought I would agree to do a product review on my blog, because I didn’t want to risk losing my own voice. I have seen it happen before. It starts with one sponsored review here, one there. Before you know it, the entire blog is representative of the products you can find on the shelves in Target, but the author is nowhere to be found. I don’t want that for Bohemian Hijabi. But when I try something I actually like, I will tell you about it.

Those of you who know me personally, know that I live a pretty hectic life. Between four school-aged children who require help with homework, a husband, and a full-time job, there’s not always a lot of time left over for cooking. I can’t tell you how many nights we’ve had grilled cheese and salad for dinner because the day got away from me. To come across a product that eliminated a good amount of prep work is a plus for me.

I recently received a coupon for a free Perdue Oven Ready roaster. Free food? I’m in. I went to Publix (because God knows Wal-Mart would not have been capable of processing a coupon for free chicken) and grabbed a bag for $10.49. One of the things I was excited to see on the front was that the bird was raised caged free. Now I’m not an extreme animal rights activist, but I do believe we should treat animals humanely, even if we do plan to eat them.

I set the oven to 375 degrees, discarded the outer packaging of the roaster, and placed the inner bag inside of a glass baking pan. Then I cut a little slit in the bag over the breast of the bird, per the package instructions. Then, popped it into the oven. No cleaning, no marinating, and no spraying the kitchen down with disinfectant spray. I was actually able to sit and read my Kindle for twenty minutes, which is completely out of the ordinary for that time of evening.

I will say that the finished roaster did not take pretty pictures. The wings fell off, but only because the meat was really juicy and tender. I served it along with some leftover biryani that I reheated (don’t judge me for serving leftovers) and had everyone seated with a plate in front of them by 7:00. Let me tell you, the only time we are seated for dinner that early is when dinner consists of cereal. Which has happened. Again, don’t judge me.

I didn’t expect a lot of flavor, because pre-seasoned stuff can sometimes be a bit bland. I was fully prepared to add extras, but was pleasantly surprised to find that I didn’t need to. The chicken had good flavor and was nice and moist. It definitely was worth the effort that I put into making it.

I happen to have some coupons for $2 off the purchase of any Perdue Oven Ready product, courtesy of Bzzagent. If you are interested, send an email to bohemianhijabi@gmail.com. First come, first serve. I’ll update this post once the coupons are gone.

*I was provided a coupon for a free roaster, but was not paid for this review. The opinion shared is completely my own and was not influenced by the manufacturer.

**Sorry, the last of the coupons have been given away. We’ll see what the next bzzagent review brings!

20121114-105937.jpg

 

2 thoughts on “Oven Ready

Leave a Reply

