Heavy

When I initially saw the news on Friday, I decided not to write about it. I figured there would be enough people covering the story of innocent children and heroic teachers who experienced unimaginable horror in a place that they were supposed to feel safe. I thought the victims left behind deserved to grieve quietly. A fellow blogger convinced me otherwise. To allow this event to be buried in history, to let the memories of those whose lives were cut short fade away, would have been an injustice. Those babies and the people tasked with protecting them deserve to be remembered. The small amount of time they spent in this world should not be without impact to the rest of us.

I try not to imagine the terror those poor children felt in their last moments, or the despair of the adults entrusted with their care. But I can’t shut it out. I can’t close my eyes without images popping into my head. And as a mother of four beautiful children, I can’t help but cry for the parents who can’t tuck their children into bed tonight. The parents with Christmas trees in their living rooms, presents underneath for little Madeleine or Emilie or Benjamin, which will never get opened. I can’t stop thinking of Noah’s twin sister, who likely feels that a piece of her is missing, torn away with a gaping hole left behind. My heart goes out to any parent who knows the pain of outliving their children. Sometimes things happen unfairly. Someone becomes the victim of Leukemia, or some other potentially terminal disease. As horrible as that may be, I get that. I don’t get what happened on Friday, the premeditated murder of children who have not even had a chance to experience life, or of the adults whose love of children led them to accept the responsibility of teaching and protecting them.

I don’t have much more to add to the discussions that are still happening across the country with regards to this massacre. What I can add though, are prayers. I pray that God give the affected families and friends the strength they need to get through this terrible time. I pray that as a nation, we can come to an agreement on measures to prevent violence of this magnitude in the future. I pray that the victims are at peace now. And I pray that we never forget them.

Leave a Reply

