January Birchbox

I actually typed up a blog post for the January Birchbox and posted it, then it completely disappeared. Damn you, WordPress. So here I am again. January’s Birchbox was better than most of the others I have received, but still fell short of making me happy. I’ll start off with the items I actually liked.

Image

The DDF Wrinkle Resist Plus Pore Minimizer was really nice. I prefer serum moisturizers because they do a great job of combating the dryness of my skin without the oil-slick effect. I would buy this without question.

Also included was Kerastase Elixir Ultime. I wasn’t expecting much when I tried it, but I was pleasantly surprised by how glossy my hair was after using it. And the size of the sample was a nice upgrade from the tiny foil packs I have grown accustomed to from Birchbox.

Sadly, those are the only two items I enjoyed. The Hot Mama Balm is a combination of eye shadow and blush in one. I can get behind combining cosmetics. What I can’t get behind is the coral color I received. I’m sure it would look awesome on someone, just not me.

Birchbox has yet to send me a fragrance that I like. Viva La Juicy wasn’t too bad, but didn’t mix well with my body chemistry. Oh, well.

Since I don’t ever use blow dryers or flat irons on my hair, the Kerastase Nutritive Nectar Thermique was of absolutely no use to me. I ended up giving it to a friend. Kerastase seems like a decent brand based on what I have tried, so hopefully she gets some use out of it.

Image

 

All in all, this wasn’t the worst Birchbox I received. The product samples were a reasonable size and the selections weren’t too shabby. I just wish I could have benefited from more than two of them. Let’s see what February has to offer! 

4 thoughts on “January Birchbox

Leave a Reply

