Birchbox June 2013

It’s that time of month again, though I am not all that excited to deliver this report. My Birchbox this month was sort of ho-hum, and I thought about skipping the post this time around. But that wouldn’t be fair to you guys, so here goes.

Bzz Agent 006

The first item was the  body moisturizer. I get that they sell this stuff in Neiman Marcus for $25 a bottle but to me it looked, felt and smelled like regular old hotel lotion. Definitely not anything I would buy at full price, but I can always use a small bottle of lotion for my purse. I will be making good use of the sample.

The Color Club Wanderlust Collection nail enamel was probably my favorite item. The color I received was Reign in Spain and if you can’t tell from the picture, it is sort of a loud coral color. I expected it to be hideous against my skin tone, but it was actually pretty nice. As promised, it only took two coats to achieve full coverage. At $8 for a full-sized bottle, I would probably purchase it again.

Beauty Protector’s Protect and Detangle did what it promised to do: detangle. It also smelled nice. The solution itself was a little too thick for the spray pump, so I ended up dumping it out into my hands and then massaging it through my hair, which is not the most efficient method. I won’t bother buying this because it didn’t work any better than the stuff that is currently in my spray bottle, which is distilled water and conditioner. Not only is my concoction considerably cheaper than the $21.95 price tag on Beauty Protector’s product, but it actually sprays out of the bottle.

29 Cosmetics included their 29 Preserves Skin Care Collection. I am always excited about skin care, even if the samples usually are pretty small. I have ridiculously sensitive skin, and there isn’t much I can put on it without breaking out into hives. I was nervous when I discovered that there was a little bit of a fragrance to this line, but it didn’t bother my skin at all. The cream cleanser was mild, but got the job done, and the serum moisturizer was amazing. Even the eye serum went on without any irritation. That is a rarity for me. The product line costs more than I would normally shell out for skin care, but I am getting to an age where I have to splurge a little to preserve my fabulousness.

The lifestyle extra item included happened to be Glee Gum. Don’t get me wrong, I really liked this stuff. In fact, I liked it so much that it would be my go-to gum if I didn’t have to buy a package containing twelve packs. I just don’t chew enough gum for that. That much gum in the house would be too tempting for my kids, and visions of gum-tangled hair fill my head when I even think about buying it. So…no.

I also received a bonus set of post cards that I can send off to friends. In the age of text-messaging, a hand-written note seems to be a lost art. As an old school lady who still appreciates written notes, these post cards won’t go to waste.

That concludes this month’s Birchbox report. I think I will actually do a review of my Curl Box once I get a chance to tru everything out. I know, I promised that before. We’ll see what kind of mood I happen to be in when the time comes.

One thought on “Birchbox June 2013

Leave a Reply

