July Birchbox

After last month’s ho hum box, I have fallen back in love with Birchbox. I won’t go so far as to call this one my absolute favorite, but it is definitely close to the top of my list.

20130724-115747.jpg

The first item from the box was the Pedi Cure Foot Treatment Crème. My box came with two generous samples to rub on my hideous feet. I didn’t hate it, but I don’t know if I would actually buy it. I didn’t notice any spectacular improvement in the state of my feet.

Next up is the I.C.O.N India Oil. This was my favorite item in the box. As a curly girl, my hair has a tendency to get really dry. I always use some form of oil, usually coconut. I never thought anything would come along that I would love more than my coconut oil, but here’s I.C.O.N.! This made my hair feel so soft and silky, I couldn’t stop touching it. My curls had definition without adding any kind of holding product to them. The full sized bottle of this stuff retails for $40. Let me tell you, that’s a splurge I will be making.

Modelco’s Party Proof Lipstick wouldn’t have been something I purchased before, but I was glad to have a chance to try it. I am pretty sure the tube I received was full sized. If not, it was pretty darned close. A full sized tube of Peony was included in my box, and retails for $19. I am not sure what rock I have been sleeping under for the past ten years, but I have NEVER seen lipstick that expensive! It went on nicely, and had serious staying power, as promised.

I wasn’t sure what to expect from Dr. Jart’s Ceramidin Cream. I opened it up and put some on my ring finger to try out, and discovered that it was actually tinted. I love the fact that every tinted item I have ever received from Birchbox has matched my skin well, and this product was no exception. The fragrance, though not heavy, was more than I would have expected from a facial cream. It didn’t seem to irritate my sensitive skin, though. This cream went on nicely and blended in well. The full size retails for $48.

Finally, the lifestyle item included was a set of bobby pins designed by Birchbox. I loved the fact that they were wider than traditional bobby pins, so they could hold my unruly hair more securely. The design was also a nice change from the standard black and brown. A set of six sells for $5, which isn’t bad considering that you can just about use these as barrettes.

2 thoughts on “July Birchbox

    • I love your reviews, Kristen! I usually can’t comment on them because I read your blog at work (shh, don’t tell!) and the comments section is blocked. I am so tempted to sign up for some of the boxes you review, especially the seasons box. If I do, I will use the link from your blog to make sure you get credit. 🙂

Leave a Reply

