CurlBox Times Three

I have been subscribed to CurlBox for three months now, and have yet to post a review. I am very sorry for that. To try to redeem myself in the eyes of my readers, I decided to review all three boxes in one post.

May 2013

Curl Box 005

Curl Box 006

My May box included Lustrasilk’s Curl Max curl enhancing shampoo. I won’t go so far as to say that it enhanced my curls, but it did get my hair clean without stripping it to death. The 12 ounce bottle I received sells for $14.95 on Amazon, which is weird since the 20 ounce bottle sells for less. At any rate, I would not purchase this again on my own.

My favorite item in the box was the Carol’s Daughter Monoi repairing conditioner. The smell bugged me a little, but only because I don’t love gardenia. This conditioner made my hair feel nice and silky after rinsing. My sample was a deluxe size, I think about 2 ounces. The 7 ounce jar sells on Amazon for $22.60. I might purchase again, I would just need to add a few drops of essential oils to distract me from the gardenia scent.

There was also a small bottle of Crème of Nature’s Sunflower and Coconut Detangling Conditioning Shampoo, as well as a small bottle of their Lemongrass and Rosemary leave in conditioner.  A 15.2 ounce bottle of the shampoo retails for $7.54 and the conditioner goes for $9.54 on Amazon. I would not purchase either one. I don’t normally like products by Crème of Nature and these items did not prove to be exceptions. They dried my hair out horribly, and combing it was not a pleasant experience afterwards. It was more tangled that it would have been if I had washed it with a bar of Ivory soap.

The last item included was Motions Radiating Gloss. I know I sound like a product snob here, but I have yet to try a product by Motions that I actually like. This did nothing but weigh my hair down and give it a greasy film. For those of you who enjoy Motions products, the Radiating Gloss sells on Amazon for $4.86.

 

June 2013

Curl Box 002

Curl Box 004

The June box was soo much better. I breathed a sigh of relief. Not a Motions product in sight. What I did receive was a full-sized bottle of Crème of Nature’s Argan Oil. I know there is plenty of hype surrounding Argan Oil, but I don’t happen to be a fan. I did however like Crème of Nature’s version. It sealed in the moisture in my hair without weighing it down. Be careful not to use too much, though! It sells on Amazon for $9.99.

UR Curly Quinoa Conditioner was my least favorite item in the box. It made my hair dry, and I actually had to wash and condition it all over again to get my hair back to normal. A 10 ounce bottle sells on Amazon for $16.50.

I had never heard of NuNAAT before, but their Treatment Intensive Hair Mask was really nice. It made my hair soft, but not overly so. I wished I could have received an additional packet of this in place of the UR Curly Quinoa Conditioner. NuNaAAT Treatment Intensive Hair Mask has a 17.6 ounce jar on Amazon for $5.90.

My favorite item in the box was the Ouidad Curl Co Wash Cleansing Conditioner, which Amazon sells for $37.95. The price is a little steep for a cleansing conditioner, but boy did my hair love this stuff. The smell was clean and fresh without being overly perfumey, and my hair felt clean, but not stripped afterwards. This is one product I would definitely treat myself to.

I am not a stranger to the ECO brand, but I had never tried their Olive Oil Custard before. I have seen a few negative reviews stating that it didn’t leave hair feeling moisturized, but I didn’t have a problem with it. I normally use extra virgin coconut oil on my hair in addition to any styling products, so that may have been the key. I actually used this custard on my daughter’s hair for her flat twists, and it helped them look nice and neat without making her hair crunchy. You can find this on Amazon for $4.79.

I didn’t bother looking up the prices for the Eden Body Works coconut products included, because I didn’t love any of them. They weren’t bad, just not different from anything else I have tried.

Last but not least, the June Curlbox came with a shampoo comb by Ouidad. I had been using a denman brush on my hair (which I still prefer), but it is nice to have a comb that I can hang in the shower. I like being able to comb through my hair while it is still sopping wet and full of conditioner, so this was a pleasant surprise. It sells on Ouidad’s website for $8.00.

July 2013

Curl Box 003

I will start out by saying that this was not my favorite box. I have tried the L’Oreal EverCurl shampoo and conditioner in the past, and did not care for either one. They aren’t terrible, just not for me. I do however like their hydrating sulfate free shampoo. They normally retail for about $5.99 per bottle, and you can rest assured that I won’t buy another. It gets pretty good reviews, so I am sure it works well for many other curly girls; just not for me.

I was disappointed to find a full-sized bottle of Motions Straight Finish Cleanser. It sells on Amazon for $6.89 for an 8 ounce bottle for those of you who enjoy Motions products. I only ever use heat on my hair once in a blue moon, so maybe it just isn’t friendly to curly hair. My hair didn’t feel as clean as I would have liked and the shampoo seemed to leave a coating behind, making it difficult for my conditioner to penetrate.

Palmer’s Cocoa Butter Formula Swivel Stick apparently sells on Amazon for $8.44. I really find it hard to believe that you would pay more than a few dollars for it at a drugstore. I actually like this product, but I didn’t sign up for a subscription box to get things that I could run down to Walgreen’s to buy.

The Phytospecific Intense Nutrition Mask sells for $51.50 on Amazon. Yes, I know. But it was actually really nice. It didn’t give me the “slip” I had hoped for and the smell was on the yucky side, but it left my hair feeling soft, smooth and healthy. I am pretty sure I wouldn’t spend $51.50 on it, though.

I also received Phytospecific’s Moisturizing Styling Cream, which sells on Amazon for $23.49. I liked this, but definitely had to wash my hair more frequently when using it because it caused some serious build-up. I used it on damp hair, so I don’t know that it was a moisturizer as much as it was a sealant. I wasn’t impressed enough to pay full price for it though.

The one item that I really liked was the Crème of Nature Argan Oil 7-N-1 Leave in Treatment. You can find this at Sally’s Beauty Supply for $8.99 ($7.99 with a Beauty Club Card), and Curl Box included a coupon for $1.00 off. The bottle included in the box was full-sized. I sprayed it on my hair while it was still damp, and brushed it through. It gave my hair a shine that I never thought was possible, and the curls were nice and defined.

So there you have it. I am seriously considering cancelling my subscription, especially after seeing the products that subscribers received in their August boxes. I haven’t received mine yet, but it appears to be chock full of African Pride products. Again, I don’t want to sound like a product snob because I am sure African Pride makes some fantastic products. But I don’t like the idea of paying $25 for a box of stuff that is readily available at the drugstore for pennies on the dollar. The monthly cost of CurlBox is $25. Not too bad, but I can think of a few other subscription boxes out there that I wouldn’t mind trying. I have already paid for August and September, so I will bring you reviews on those boxes as I receive them. Otherwise, I am on the lookout for a replacement box. I’ll keep you posted!

Leave a Reply

