Birchbox: January 2014

Birchbox 113

 

I really could have been a bit timelier with this post, but I really wanted to try everything out before I did any kind of review on the products I received. That’s only fair, right?

The first thing I tried out was the Liz Earle Hot Cloth Cleanser. This cleanser came in the cutest box and included a muslin cloth. When I first tried it, I wasn’t very impressed at all. For one, I like for my face to feel tingly when I finish washing it. It makes me feel as though my cleanser has done its job. No tingling with this stuff. But it was a nice sized sample, so what the heck? I used it until it was empty. Once in the morning and once at night, I massaged the cleanser onto my dry face, and removed it using the muslin cloth after having soaked it in hot water. After the first day, my skin looked a little worse for wear. It didn’t feel irritated at all, but it certainly looked like I could use a good dollop of hydrocortisone cream. But I kept with it. After a couple of days, I noticed that my skin felt smoother and softer. I don’t have any problems at all with acne, but my skin does tend to feel a little like an orange peel sometimes. The Liz Earle Hot Cloth Cleanser snuck up on me and unexpectedly changed from skin from orange peel to baby’s booty. Seriously, I can’t stop touching it. It’s made with cocoa butter and essential oils and doesn’t appear to contain anything that will irritate sensitive skin (which I have). This is definitely going on my “to-buy” list. At $21.50, it really is a good buy for such a nice cleanser.

Birchbox 122

Next is the Nelsonj Beverly Hills Argan Oil 7 Non-Foaming Shampoo. Boy is that a mouthful. Anywho, I was really happy to see this in my box. A few weeks ago, I ordered this line’s deep conditioning masque from Birchbox and absolutely loved it. This shampoo didn’t disappoint. I received the citrus mint scent, and the smell was really nice and light. The consistency was like a lotion with little beads in it. I am assuming they were mint beads, but I could be wrong. This shampoo doesn’t foam, as promised. It does make my hair feel nice and clean, though. As a curly girl, it is very important that my shampoo not strip the oil out of my hair. Otherwise I end up with a very poodle-like hairdo. This shampoo did exactly what I needed it to do. I followed up with the conditioning masque and by the time all was said and done, I felt as though I had been granted a new head of hair. $22.00 is a bit more than I would normally pay for an 8 ounce bottle of shampoo, so I will probably not buy it for myself. I will happily accept it as a gift, though. *hint*

Birchbox 119

That leads me to the Lifestyle Extra item I received, which was a braided headband from Under Armour. This headband is obviously geared towards women who workout. The underside of it has  grippy strips to keep the band from slipping out of place. And true to its promise, the band did stay put. I am not sure that I would have purchased this normally, but it was nice to have for sure. You can grab a three-pack in the Birchbox store for $19.99.

Birchbox 118

I finally got around to trying the Retrospect Feet, Knees and Elbows cream last night after experiencing some major dissatisfaction with a bootleg pedicure I received. I am on the fence about this one. While it made my primate-like feet resemble human appendages again, it had a weird, filmy feel to it as it was drying. My toes looked fabulous, though. But the smell! Lord have mercy! If you have ever gotten up close to a container of hair relaxer, you have smelled this cream. After I put it on, I read the packaging to make sure I wasn’t supposed to rinse it off afterwards. Surely, I couldn’t be expected to walk around smelling like that! I am not sure when the smell actually dissipated, but it was gone by the time I woke up this morning. Or, my nose acclimated to it and I just didn’t notice how badly my feet smelled anymore. Anywho, this is available in the Birchbox store for $38.00.

Birchbox 117

My husband looked at me like I had lost my ever loving mind when I pulled the 100% Pure Fruit Pigmented Mascara out of the box. Kohl and mascara are really the only forms of makeup I bother with. I have very sensitive eyes, though. I often forgo the mascara and wear just kohl because on the days that I actually do wear mascara, I usually end up scrubbing it off after a couple of hours. When I first opened the tube of %100 Pure, I smelled blueberries right away. Apparently, it is pigmented with berries and black tea. Let me tell you, I am so sold on this that I don’t think I will ever buy another mascara in my life. I have been wearing this daily without a hint of irrigation, and no longer rush to the ladies room to scrub my eyes clean. This sells for $18 in the Birchbox store, which is not bad at all for a good quality mascara. I will warn you that this mascara is only capable of one coat. Anything more will give you spider legs for lashes. One coat works fine for me because I am usually going for the natural look anyway. But if you want something more dramatic, this may not be the option for you. I have been converted into a 100% Pure believer.

Birchbox 116

 

Last, I received a collection of postcards. I know many people are disappointed to see these in their boxes, but I have always been a fan of stationary, ever since I was a little girl. Mine won’t go to waste.

Birchbox 120

All in all, I was really happy with my box this month. I will hopefully get back to reviewing them each month now that things are a little less hectic for me at home.

Leave a Reply

