Run, Forrest! Run!

20140214-100845.jpg

I am not the kind of person who makes New Year’s resolutions. I used to back in the day, but I never actually stuck by any of them. I figured if I didn’t bother to make any resolutions, there was no chance of disappointing myself. Makes sense, right? Yeah. So on January 1st of 2014, when I actually should have been promising myself that I would exercise five days a week, I was actually lying in bed reading a book on my Kindle and just barely staying awake long enough to see the new year come in.

For those of you who don’t know me, I am fat. My son hates when I make that declaration because he thinks I am being down on myself. I am not, I promise you. I am merely stating a fact. It isn’t like my fatness is some well-kept secret. I can’t hide it. You know it when you see me. It was something that never bothered me much before. I don’t beat myself up over it, but I do notice that the older I get, the more affected I am by it. My knees are achy. My second chin is a little droopier than it was before. There’s nothing cute about that. So fix it, I shall. But I have been fat for so long that I don’t feel like I have a clue where to start. I don’t do well with deprivation. I have tried strict diets, including one that had me eating nothing but apples, salad and boiled eggs. Outside of the horrendous gas issues, I tripped and fell into a major binge-a-thon that had my behind spreading faster than a forest fire.

When I saw that The Biggest Loser was hosting a half marathon in my hometown of Buffalo, NY, I thought: “What better motivation that this to start running?” Watching groups of people high off endorphins, with the soles of their sneakers hitting the ground at even intervals makes me envious. Not because the people running are in better shape than I am. I feel jealousy because I know what a runner’s high feels like. Let me tell you, there is nothing like it. Running makes you feel like you are floating. It makes you feel invincible. Almost. You see, I used to run. Not for long, and not fast, but I ran. And I loved it. I wondered why I didn’t do it more frequently. Then life got busy, and heading to the gym to use the treadmill wasn’t an option. I know that’s a convenient excuse. When you love something, you make time for it. I neglected to make time for my love of running. I stopped altogether, and regret it every single day.

So where was I? Oh, yes: I registered to run/trot/walk The Biggest Loser Half Marathon in August. I am a little nervous, because I have never done a race longer than a 5K. Finishing is a super ambitious goal, but I am striving for it nonetheless. I am anxious to feel the endorphins that I haven’t experienced in a long time. I am looking forward to the satisfying burn in my quads and calves. And sweat-soaked clothes? That’s the icing on the cake. It’s my body’s way of giving me a thumbs up, letting me know that everything is functioning as it should. Training started today for me, beginning in the kitchen. You can’t outrun a bad diet, right? I know I say this all the time, but I will do my best to keep you posted on at least a weekly basis.

Leave a Reply

