The Plus-Sized Dilemma

I set out on Monday to do a complete overhaul of my lifestyle. I stocked up on fresh produce, lean protein and complex carbohydrates. For the most part, I am trying to stick to Jillian Michael’s philosophy: If it didn’t come from the earth or have a mother, don’t eat it. I had a meal plan created for the entire week, and a new collection of Rubbermaid to-go dishes to keep me on track. Giddy with excitement, I thought I would tackle the other part of my plan: fitness.

After picking up a new Polar FT4 watch to help me keep track of the calories I burn when working out, I decided to pop on over to Target to see if I could snag a few good clearance deals. I don’t normally buy clothing from Target, so I wasn’t sure where to look. There is no plus section marked at all. You can find signs suspended from the ceiling advertising the locations of the Women’s department, Junior’s, and Maternity. Not Plus, though. I walked through each section hoping to find something for me, but came up empty handed. I know that in the past, plus sizes had been thrown into the maternity section. I guess Target’s opinion is that a big belly is a big belly, regardless of what is inside of it. But even after scouring the maternity section, I couldn’t find a single thing. If you’re simply looking for a jersey maxi dress, you can find them up to a size XXL. But if you need jeans, you need to head elsewhere. Even though I could have gotten a few maxi dresses, I decided not to spend any money in Target that day.

As much as I dislike the elitist attitude that has been adopted by stores like Abercrombie & Fitch, I can understand it. They cater to a specific group of people, and don’t want fatties making their brand look bad. The CEO of the company looks bad enough with his orangey-tan skin and overly botoxed lips. He doesn’t need any help in that area. But I don’t expect to be excluded from a major retailer like Target.

Sadly, many other retailers are following this trend. Old Navy sells plus sizes exclusively online, along with Gap and H&M. Shopping online is not a terrible thing, but it sucks not to be able to try on clothing before you buy it. I know what some of you are saying: Just lose the weight, and you won’t have to shop in the plus section. You will be able to shop ‘til you drop in any store in the mall. My response would be that I am working on the whole weight thing. I really am. But it would be nice if I could dress nicely in the meantime. And what about the women who are perfectly comfortable in their curves? Why should they be forced to shop online? If you want a customer’s money, you should be readily available to take it. They shouldn’t have to go searching to give it to you.

This electronic message transmission contains information from the Company that may be proprietary, confidential and/or privileged. The information is intended only for the use of the individual(s) or entity named above. If you are not the intended recipient, be aware that any disclosure, copying or distribution or use of the contents of this information is prohibited. If you have received this electronic transmission in error, please notify the sender immediately by replying to the address listed in the “From:” field.

Leave a Reply

