Operation Fat to Fit: Week 2

I promised you all that I would be here with a weekly update, so here I am. Since last week Monday, I have dropped 7 pounds. I am sure that a good chunk of it is just water weight, but seeing a change in numbers was inspiring nonetheless. I have been sticking to portion control like white on rice, and putting my Polar FT4 watch to good use. Outside of portion control, one of the biggest obstacles I had in the past was just general unpreparedness. I would show up at work with no plan for lunch, and ended up eating out of the vending machine all day. A honey bun and coffee for breakfast. A bag of chips and M&M’s for lunch. A pack of peanut butter crackers for my morning snack. A granola bar and a pack of peanuts for my afternoon snack. I was killing myself, not only with my caloric intake, but with my intake of processed crap. There were many, many days that would pass without a single vegetable touching my lips. I guess my body was so shocked by the sudden introduction of healthy foods that it couldn’t hold on to the weight.

I really wish I could go to the gym, but it’s not an option for me. With four children and a husband, I am a busy lady. The best time for me to get in a workout is when everyone else is in bed. Since jumping around at 4:30 in the morning is not at all appealing, I workout at night. I have read plenty of articles and blogs explaining all the evils of exercising at night, but I have yet to feel any adverse affects. In fact, I have gotten better sleep over the past week than I had gotten over the past year. I love working my body to exhaustion, showering, and then pretty much passing out afterwards. Besides, working out at night is better than not working out at all.

I subscribed to Gaiam TV and let me tell you, they have a boatload of fitness videos on there. There are many from The Firm, as well as some from Jillian Michaels and Mari Winsor. I am not exaggerating when I say that there are hundreds of choices available. Gaiam TV streams through my Roku device and is $9.95 a month after a free 10 day trial period. Since I have eliminated most of my subscription boxes, I owed myself a treat.

I am not revealing my starting weight, because that’s just too much information to share. My husband doesn’t even know that number. I will tell you that it’s a lot. Like I have a whole extra person attached to me. Seven pounds doesn’t even put a dent in the weight I need to lose, but it did let me know that I made the right changes. And my knees are thanking me for my efforts.

This electronic message transmission contains information from the Company that may be proprietary, confidential and/or privileged. The information is intended only for the use of the individual(s) or entity named above. If you are not the intended recipient, be aware that any disclosure, copying or distribution or use of the contents of this information is prohibited. If you have received this electronic transmission in error, please notify the sender immediately by replying to the address listed in the “From:” field.

2 thoughts on “Operation Fat to Fit: Week 2

Leave a Reply

