Operation Fat to Fit: Week Four

20140310-213417.jpg

I have been reading various articles that tell me that the number of ounces I drink in water each day should equal about half my body weight in pounds. So a person who weighs 150 pounds should consume 75 ounces of water. I think that’s a perfectly reasonable goal for a person of a reasonable weight. Not so much for a person of my weight. I am not going to tell you how many ounces a day that would equal for me, because I am not quite ready to disclose my starting weight yet. I will tell you that half my body weight in water is not happening. I might possibly die of water intoxication. I currently aim for about 100 ounces a day. That’s slightly less than 6 of the 16.9 ounce bottles we have available at work. In addition to keeping myself nice and hydrated, I get a nice workout running back and forth to the restroom at work. Win/win, right?

I got on the scale this morning (fully dressed and after breakfast) and was happy to see that I dropped another four pounds. That brings me to a total of 15 so far! I am free of three whole bags of flour. Or sixty sticks of butter. However you choose to look at it. Since I still have a considerable amount to lose, I didn’t expect to see a difference in my clothing. I was pleasantly surprised to put on one of my favorite abayas and find that it falls a bit lower than it did before. I don’t think I would have noticed a difference this soon if I had been relying only on diet. Exercise plays such an important part in weight loss. Diet alone will help you become a skinnier version of your former fat self. I don’t know about any of you, but I am looking to transform my body completely.

Lately, I have been stuck on Zumba Exhilarate, The Firm: Transfirm Your Trouble Zones (express), and Turbo Jam Cardio Party. I also do the Winsor Pilates classic routine twice a week. Once these workouts stop challenging me, I will add some tougher stuff in the mix. I happen to have Supreme 90 sitting in a box collecting dust, and I can’t wait to pull it out!

The Corporate 5K is coming up next month, so I will also be adding running (or trotting) into my regimen this week. Hopefully that additional activity will be reflected on the scale. I’ll be back next week to let you know!

Leave a Reply

