Operation Fat to Fit: Week Six

This post really should have been written yesterday, but I was so caught up in trying to finish Throne of Glass by Sarah Maas, everything else got put on the back burner. My kids are lucky they had dinner last night. I sure didn’t. But I didn’t come here to talk to you about my unnatural obsession with YA literature. I got on the scale this morning and was really shocked to find that I lost another pound since last week. I had not been as diligent with my workouts as I should have been. Aunt Flo is also scheduled to make an appearance in the next few days, so I fully expected to put on a pound or two. In the past, I have gained as much as six pounds prior to Aunt Flo’s arrival. So while that pound lost may seem insignificant in the overall picture, I will take it gladly. Those pounds add up.

That means my total weight loss since my first post is 22 pounds. I have been meaning to set specific small goals for myself as well as rewards for accomplishing those goals, but I haven’t gotten around to it. I remember a long time ago setting a short term goal of 30 pounds, so maybe I will stick with that for now. And my reward will be… well, you’ll just have to tune in to see when I hit that goal. Although my clothes are definitely looser, I am not ready to start buying new ones. Since I wear abayas most of the time, I can get away with them being a little on the big side. I have a few dresses in mind that I plan to make for myself once I lose a bit more weight. I think 50 pounds seems like a good place to start that project, but it will depend more in the inches I lose than the number on the scale. Don’t worry, you will all get a chance to witness the mediocrity of my sewing ability soon.

When I attempted Weight Watchers some time ago, my coach told me to eat a piece of fruit whenever I craved something sweet. I couldn’t stop the snort that came out of my face as a reply. There is no way grabbing a piece of fruit is going to eliminate my hankering for a brownie. Was this lady serious? But she was on to something, I just didn’t know it back then. I read that a person who consumes large amounts of sugar on a regular basis can possibly become less sensitive to the flavor of sweet foods. That may sound crazy to you, but it makes perfect sense to me. I can’t tell you how many times I went back for second and third helpings of cake in an attempt to satisfy my sweet tooth. Baked goods and candy just didn’t taste as good as it used to. But I remembered the way it tasted long ago, and I needed to experience that again. I couldn’t stop eating until I did.

It’s been over five weeks since so much as a spoonful of frosting has crossed my lips. It was tough going at first. But after a while, I realized I didn’t miss it. Not all the time, anyway. And you know what else? Fruit tastes better than I can ever remember. I peeled and ate an orange this morning, and my toes curled up at the sweetness of it. I’m not kidding. It was the best thing I had eaten all day. The cravings really do go away with time. You just have to give your body that time to get past the initial withdrawal. Once you do, your body will thank you and fruit will become your best friend.

There’s no straddling the fence on this journey. If you want it badly enough, you have to make up your mind and make it happen. There are days you will fall off the wagon. When you do, brush yourself off and get right back on. In the wise words of Yoda: “Do, or do not. There is no try.”

20140327-163325.jpg

Leave a Reply

