Operation Fat to Fit: Week Nine

Before you ask, this post was not delayed as a result of my immersion in YA literature, as evidenced by the fact that I still have not finished reading Crown of Midnight. This has been such a long, hectic week that I actually forgot what day it was. A few days ago, I stepped on the scale to check my progress. It didn’t dawn on me that I should actually be sharing that progress with you.

So…..I am down another two pounds this week, for a grand total of 28 pounds lost. Woohoo! I was really hoping to hit the 30 pound make this week so I could buy my first reward, but progress is progress. I can’t be too upset with the number considering that I really slacked on workouts this week. The IOA Corporate 5K is coming up on the 17th, and I need to be ready. I’d like to have hit the 30 pound mark by that time, but we will see what happens.

I have spoken with people who have trouble with meal planning when it comes to losing weight, and it can really be anyone’s downfall. Without a plan for meals in place, you are likely to grab whatever you can get your hands on the fastest when you are hungry. I don’t always follow my own advice, and I find that the weeks I am better prepared tend to be the weeks I drop the most pounds.

It can be tough to come up with healthy meal ideas, and I often get bored when eating the same things over and over. One of the first things I do is grab the sales ads for the grocery stores I frequent, and match up sale items (on good stuff, not Oreo cookies) with any coupons I may have. Depending on the price I get an item for, I may stock up. For example, Winn Dixie has Dole bagged salad, large mangoes, Bird’s Eye Steamfresh vegetables, and split chicken breasts on BOGO this week. I don’t have coupons for any of those items, but they are still essential items to eating well. I will stock up and build my meals around them. You really can’t go wrong with produce and lean protein on a BOGO.

I may have mentioned this before, but there are actually some really decent healthy recipes floating around out there. Skinnytaste.com is chock full of said recipes. If you don’t mind running out to purchase a cookbook, I would highly recommend The Food You Crave by Ellie Krieger. I have yet to be disappointed by a recipe from that book.

I’m really sorry that I don’t have a more inspiring post for you this week. I have put a reminder on my calendar for next week so I will be better prepared.

This electronic message transmission contains information from the Company that may be proprietary, confidential and/or privileged. The information is intended only for the use of the individual(s) or entity named above. If you are not the intended recipient, be aware that any disclosure, copying or distribution or use of the contents of this information is prohibited. If you have received this electronic transmission in error, please notify the sender immediately by replying to the address listed in the “From:” field.

Leave a Reply

