Like the Legend of the Phoenix

The word “terrorist” is used to describe a person or group who commits atrocities to inspire feelings of terror. Unfortunately, lots of these terrorists have the gall to call themselves Muslims. I have done a blog post in the past regarding this very topic, but I won’t stop talking about it until these horrendous acts in the name of religion cease.

It can be frustrating to have a conversation with someone who is determined not to hear your point of view. In a way, that’s exactly what I do when I write a blog post such as this one. While some of you understand that there is no one group that can be considered entirely evil, others wonder how Islam can be called a religion of peace when some of its followers are the opposite of peaceful. My answer to that is while the religion gives specific instructions for the way we should live, people will always pick and choose the parts that they feel are relevant and do whatever feels good to them the rest of the time.

The first thing I’d like to clear up is the misuse of the word “jihad”. The word is used in the media as a synonym for a holy war. Literally translated, the word itself means “struggle” and refers to the struggle we each fight against our lowly desires. So please stop calling this tom foolery of slaughtering innocent people a jihad. I assure you, it is not.

In the instances of actual war, the Qur’an details how situations should be handled. For one, women, children, elderly, and clergy are not to be harmed. Destroying crops is forbidden. And one crucial rule: a Muslim is only to act in defense. Starting the fight is unlawful. Not only is starting the fight unlawful, but force must be met with equal force. That basically means that it isn’t permissible to take a knife to a fistfight. And once the opponent has stopped fighting, the Muslim must stop fighting as well.

With that being said, leaving a bomb to detonate next to spectators watching a race is not only a dastardly act, it goes against what my religion teaches. To kill one person is considered equal to killing all of mankind, while saving the life of one person is like saving the lives of all of mankind. Now I don’t claim to be a good Muslim. If you hear anyone who feels the need to profess that they are, run the other way. In my experience, the biggest hypocrites are the people who constantly need to remind others that they are what they claim to be. I won’t attempt to convince people that I am good by saying so. My main concern is making sure that on my scale of deeds, the good greatly outweigh the bad. If I am living the life that I should be living as a Muslim, you don’t need me to tell you that I’m compassionate or selfless. My actions should speak for themselves. And if you don’t get that from my actions, then I clearly have lots of work to do on myself. I won’t beat you over the head with my religion in an attempt to convert you. If I am living according to the guidelines established, my example will serve as an invitation.

I easily get sidetracked when talking about this sort of thing, so please excuse my rambling and hopping all over the place. My point is that the act of killing innocent people is not an Islamic act, and I implore the monsters committing these acts to contradict me with proof. These abhorrent events reek of cowardice. There is nothing brave about starting a fight, nothing heroic about unfair tactics. In the “hood”, those namby-pamby methods would quickly get you labeled as a wimp, or other words that aren’t suitable for use on my blog, but still very fitting.

Today, thousands of people attended the Boston Marathon, either as runners or as spectators. Some of the attendees were victims of last year’s tragedy. Amazingly, they didn’t let themselves play the role of a victim. They found strength in adversity and valiantly persevered to show the enemy that they failed to achieve their objective. Instead of filling hearts with terror, calamity has renewed our sense of altruism and strengthened our camaraderie. If you believe that hardship is the way to destroy people, you clearly don’t understand the resilience of the human spirit.

This electronic message transmission contains information from the Company that may be proprietary, confidential and/or privileged. The information is intended only for the use of the individual(s) or entity named above. If you are not the intended recipient, be aware that any disclosure, copying or distribution or use of the contents of this information is prohibited. If you have received this electronic transmission in error, please notify the sender immediately by replying to the address listed in the “From:” field.

Leave a Reply

