Operation Fat to Fit: Week Eleven

I tried to get into The Book Thief. I really did. It had rave reviews, and I was curious to read a holocaust story told from a German’s point of view. I just couldn’t get behind death as the protagonist. It didn’t allow me any insight to the main character’s personality, which is really important to me. I need to be able to develop some kind of relationship with a book’s main characters in order to truly enjoy a story, and I just couldn’t feel one way or another about any of the characters involved. I might pick it up again later, but I have no interest in finishing it anytime soon. Oh, well. I am reading Yellow Crocus right now, which is a tale of two different experiences during slavery. One perspective is that of Mattie, a slave who is denied the opportunity to be a mother to her own infant son while fulfilling the role of wet-nurse to the master’s children. The other point of view is that of Miss Elizabeth, the first born child to the master of the plantation who is nurtured in her early years by Mattie. I haven’t gotten far enough into the story to give a real review, though. Allegiant is on the backburner for now. I am having a tough time getting into it, having read the other two books in the Divergent series so long ago.

I know you guys don’t come here to read about my fascination with books, but I can’t help but share since my love of books is a huge part of who I am. What you really came here for was to check my progress, right? Well, I don’t have a ton of progress to report this week. I am down another pound, bringing my total weight loss to 33 pounds. Still nothing to sneeze at, but my progress this week is a reflection of my efforts (half-hearted as they were). I was plagued by migraines for four days straight, so workouts were pretty much nonexistent. I know that’s a pretty valid excuse for not working out, but it doesn’t change the fact that it is still an excuse. Excuses will always impair progress. My eating habits could have been better too, but it’s hard not to feel as though you are entitled to eat poorly because you are in pain. The lesson learned here is that no matter how crappy I feel, there is no reason to negate all my previous hard work by eating junk.

A couple of years ago, I tore my post tibial tendon. I wore a boot and accessorized with crutches for a few weeks as a result. Thankfully, it was only a partial tear. That meant surgery was not necessary. Physical therapy was, however. Did I ever tell you about how badly my health insurance sucks? I know I should be thankful just to have some, but the amount I have to pay out of pocket before most things get covered is pretty darned high. With that being said, the kids are the ones who normally go to the doctor. I usually wait until a limb is hanging off by a ligament before I deem my situation worthy of medical attention. Needless to say, physical therapy didn’t happen. I did a series of calf raises each day and hoped for the best.

I still have problems with my ankle periodically, which is why I did the IOA Corporate 5K in my trusty ankle brace. Apparently, doing Zumba on a carpeted surface with bare feet isn’t conducive to avoiding reinjuring my ankle. It was throbbing this morning when I woke up but I can stand on it, so I’m pretty sure medical attention isn’t needed. I rubbed it down with Narayan Balm and wrapped it up in my brace. I’ll still be walking for fitness, but I may lay off of Zumba for a week or so. My goal is to start walking three miles a day, four days a week. I’ll keep you posted on how that works out!

This electronic message transmission contains information from the Company that may be proprietary, confidential and/or privileged. The information is intended only for the use of the individual(s) or entity named above. If you are not the intended recipient, be aware that any disclosure, copying or distribution or use of the contents of this information is prohibited. If you have received this electronic transmission in error, please notify the sender immediately by replying to the address listed in the “From:” field.

Leave a Reply

