Birchbox: April 2014

My February and March Birchboxes were not my favorites, so I was really uninspired to review them. I was much happier with my April box, so here I am.

 Image

I was so excited about trying the Kind Maple Pumpkin Seeds bar that it almost didn’t make it into the picture. I love pumpkin seeds, so this was right up my alley. I don’t indulge in bars like this very often because the calorie count tends to be high, but this was a splurge I didn’t mind.

 Image

My skin has been insanely dry lately. I’m not sure if it’s the weather or my cleanser, but I can’t keep it moisturized to save my life. You can imagine how thankful I was to see a tube of Nazelle Moisturizing Night Cream included. The consistency reminds me of a cross between Aquaphor and Eucerin Q10 cream (which I love). If you don’t suffer from dry skin, this may be too heavy for you. It happened to be perfect for me. I slathered it on before I went to bed, really rubbing it into dry patches that had formed on my forehead and nose. When I woke up in the morning, those patches were completely gone.  The Birchbox shop carries a 1 ounce jar for $58, which is pricey compared to what I am used to. It is well worth it, though. I’m getting to an age where I can’t afford to be frugal when it comes to skincare, so this is on my to-buy list.

 Image

I always get excited about receiving nail polish in my boxes. This month’s Birchbox featured the Gala’s Gems Collection from Color Club. I received Heirloom Pearls, which is a shade of off-white. I prefer subtle shades when it comes to nail polish, but never thought to try off-white. It works perfectly with my skin tone, so I am a happy camper. As with the two bottles of Color Club polish I received previously, this polish goes on smoothly and covers completely with two coats. Since I have earned myself a black toenail while training for my upcoming half marathon, I was pretty impressed to see white cover the nail completely. You can snag the full set of Gala’s Gems in the Birchbox store for $13. The colors include my beautiful Heirloom Pearls as well as Gold Struck (a soft, understated gold), Breakfast At…(which is very similar to Tiffany Blue), and Aquamarine Azulino (a pretty sky blue with a slight shimmer). This is also on my to-buy list.

 Image

I received a bottle of Number 4 High Performance Hair Care’s clarifying shampoo, which made me happy. I prefer a cleansing conditioner because my hair tends to get really dry, but I still need to wash with a clarifying shampoo periodically to get rid of product buildup. My hair felt clean after using it, but not stripped. I prefer my shampoo without a ton of fragrance, and this one was right on point. An 8.5 ounce bottle sells for $32. I don’t use clarifying shampoo often enough to justify that price, but it was nice nonetheless.

 Image

I also received Number 4 Reconstructing Masque, which I tried along with the clarifying shampoo. It made my hair feel nice and soft, but I wasn’t necessarily head of over heels in love with it. a 5.1 ounce bottle sells for $58, so I won’t get purchasing any of that.

 Image

The last item in my box was The Balm Cosmetics’ How ‘Bout Them Apples?Cheek & Lip Cream in Pie, which is very close to what I like to call “Instyle Red”. It’s fairly sheer on my lips and cheeks and is nice and convenient to use. I applied it to my lips and cheeks with the pad of my fingers. I don’t usually wear blush, so this will serve more as a lip cream for me. The Balm’s product packaging is always adorable, and that’s one of the things I fall for easily. This product is available in the Birchbox shop for $32.

 ImageImage

All in all, I was pretty happy with this box. I can’t wait to see what May has to offer!

Leave a Reply

