April 2015 Birchbox

I haven’t yet made a recipe from my many magazines as promised, but I do have a review for my April Birchbox. That counts for something, doesn’t it?

  

 

The box I received for April was the prettiest box I received so far. It was designed by Rifle Paper Company and like all other pretty boxes, I couldn’t bring myself to part with it. I’ve added it to my bathroom drawer divider collection so that I can justify not throwing it away. On to the contents of the box:

 

1.       Orange Sanguine Cologne Absolue by Atelier – $70 for full size                    

I don’t mean to sound ungrateful, but I can count on one hand how many perfume samples I’ve received that I actually liked. I don’t wear perfume because it doesn’t jive with my body chemistry. It never really sinks in and mellows out, just sits on the surface just as potent as it smells in the bottle. Every once in a while, I’ll stumble across a perfume that I absolutely love. This was not one of them.

  

 

2.       Super Comb Prep & Protect by Number 4  – $32 for full size

This sulfate-free leave-in conditioner did a great job at detangling my nest of hair. I go swimming almost every day, so you can imagine what the chlorine does to me. Having something that detangles well is a big plus. Unfortunately, this stuff also tends to make my hair feel dry and filmy. This is the problem I have with every product I’ve ever tried by this company, though.

  

 

3.       Just Kissed Lip and Cheek Stain by Jane Iredale – $25 for full size

I was really disappointed when I first opened this tube. As you can see, it doesn’t look like a color that would stain anyone’s lips or cheeks, but especially not mine. I was pleasantly surprised after trying it on to find that it truly does adjust to a nice, barely-there color that I prefer in makeup. Just for kicks, I also tried it on my daughter. Her complexion is a few shades darker than mine, and the stain adjusted to her skin color as well.

  

 

4.        Baked Liquid Radiance Foundation by Laura Geller Beauty – $38

Unlike the Just Kissed Lip and Cheek stain, this did not adjust to my skin tone. I don’t ever wear foundation, so I’m always sad to see it included in my Birchboxes. if it were a tinted moisturizer, it probably would have been fine. I might have been able to get away with it. But as a liquid foundation, I don’t think this color suits anyone. That is, unless you don’t mind looking like you’ve overdosed on beta carotene.

  


5.       Body Wash (Bathing With the Sharks) by Not Soap, Radio – $16

I love getting body wash in my Birchbox. I can never have enough of it. This body was by Not Soap, Radio had a light, fresh scent that mellowed out nicely. If I could have traded out every other item of my Birchbox for more of this stuff, I would have done so happily. 

  

 

The bonus item I received was a post card from Atelier. At least they got one thing right. I always save post cards because I have a slight addiction to stationary of all kinds. I don’t know if post cards count as stationary, but they still make me smile. Overall, this wasn’t my favorite Birchbox by a long shot. Hopefully May proves to be better.

  

Leave a Reply

