March 2015 Birchbox 

I can’t believe how long it’s been since I did a Birchbox review. I promise, I’ll try to be more regular with it going forward. I actually thought about going back and doing one huge review on all the boxes I have received over the past year, but who has time for that?

  

 

The first item in my March 2015 box was the Elite Therapeutic Body Crème in Rosemary Eucalyptus. I prefer herbal scents to flowery ones, so this was right up my alley. The smell was nice and fresh without being overpowering. I have really dry hands, and this crème moisturizes them nicely. An 8 ounce tube sells for $19.00 in the Birchbox store, and I am considering making the splurge.

  

 

The product I was most excited about trying was the Macadamia Natural Oil Nourishing Moisture Masque. I am a conditioner junkie, and I’m ashamed to admit that I hoard it more than any other product. This masque was super thick, which I loved. It didn’t have the “slip” I am accustomed to with most conditioners, so I didn’t have high hopes for it. But goodness, the shine my hair had afterwards! I am head over heels in love. An 8 ounce jar sells for $36 in the Birchbox store. It’s a little rich for my pockets considering how often I change up my hair care routine, but I am not completely opposed to purchasing it.

  

 

The Roloxin Lift Revitalizing Facial Masque Treatment sells for a hefty $11 per packet, and I received two of them in my box. That’s more than double the amount I spent on the box itself! I had high expectations considering the price tag, but this product wasn’t for me. It is supposed to deliver face lift-like results that last for 24 hours, but the sensitivity of my skin meant itchy hives instead for 24 hours. Even after applying hydrocortisone cream, my face was full of red splotches. It’s probably an amazing product for someone whose skin isn’t hypersensitive, but it’s a no go for me.

  

 

I love getting lip gloss in my boxes. Those of you who have seen my Instagram feed have witnessed how often stuff from my boxes goes unused, but lip gloss never falls in that category. Somehow, Birchbox does a great job with picking out a suitable shade for my skin tone. I liked that the Smashbox Be Legendary gloss I received in Disco Rose didn’t feel sticky and had some staying power (at least, as much staying power you can get from a gloss). It sells for $20 in the Birchbox store. I have never spent that much on lipgloss in my life but in my experience, Smashbox products are worth the splurge.

  

 

Finally, I also received a Jelly Pong Pong Glow Getter Highlighter. I have never used highlighter in my life. I know, what a sorry excuse for a Birchboxer I am. Who doesn’t use highlighter? Me, apparently. I don’t even know how to apply it properly, even after watching a tutorial about 7 times in a row. The color complements my skin tone nicely though, so maybe I’ll just put some on my eye lids and hope for the best.

  

 

All in all, I liked my box this month. While not crazy about that Roloxin (I’ll gift that to someone whose skin isn’t as finicky as mine), the lip gloss and hair masque more than made up for it. 

 

 

This is slightly off topic, but Birchbox has been sending some beautifully patterned boxes out in place of their standard plain brown. The hoarder in me can’t bear to part with them, so I was really excited to stumble across pics posted by a fellow Birchboxer who used hers as drawer organizers. It was the best idea I have ever taken away from Instagram. Instead of having all my junk/products thrown into a huge bag and stuffed under the bathroom sink, it’s neatly organized into categories. I’m much more likely to use this stuff now. And my pretty boxes aren’t going to waste stacked on my closet floor.

  

 

Leave a Reply

