Foodie Files: Spinach Frittata

When you grow up in an African American household, grits are a natural part of life. Having lived the majority of my life in Buffalo, I always thought grits were eaten exclusively by black people. One Monday morning in third grade, we were discussing what we ate over the weekend. Upon mentioning grits, I could see other black classmates nodding their heads in agreement while white classmates looked puzzled. “What is a grit?” one asked, confused. Embarrassed, I never again openly admitted to eating grits. 

Imagine the shock I experienced upon moving to Florida and seeing white folks openly ordering grits for breakfast in restaurants. I know it sounds bad, but I couldn’t stop staring. It was such an anomaly to me, seeing other people eat food that I had mistakenly believed resided only in the diets of African Americans. My husband is a huge fan of grits, so I fix them often. Sometimes, I get a little tired of the same thing. Grits, scrambled eggs, turkey bacon. Grits, scrambled eggs, turkey bacon. Or pancakes, scrambled eggs, and turkey bacon. Do you see now why I was so desperate to dig into my stash of Food Network magazines?

I’ll bet you thought this food post was going to include a recipe for grits, didn’t you? Not this time. I’ll share that recipe when my vacation from grits is over. This post is about eggs in the form of a frittata.

The recipe I tried out came from the April 2015 issue of Food Network Magazine, also known as The BIG Breakfast Issue. Trisha Yearwood’s recipe for a spinach frittata calls for the following ingredients: 

4 large eggs

½ cup of heavy cream

Salt and freshly ground pepper

1 cup shredded Swiss cheese

1 cup grape tomatoes, halved lengthwise

2 tablespoons salted butter

1 small onion, finely chopped

4 cups baby spinach

Preheat your oven to a broil. In a medium bowl, whist together the eggs, heavy cream, ½ teaspoon of salt, and ½ teaspoon of pepper until smooth. Fold in cheese and tomatoes and set aside.

In a medium oven-safe frying pan over medium heat, melt the butter. Add the onion and sauté until softened. Add the spinach and cook until just wilted, about 2 minutes. Pour egg mixture over spinach and cook until almost set, about 2 to 4 minutes. Transfer to the oven and broil until golden brown on top, about 5 minutes. Remove from the oven and turn out onto a serving plate.

Now I know some of y’all are shaking your heads at the idea that a fat girl who claims to love food could make it through almost 40 years of life without having ever attempted a frittata. Please refer back to my last post and note my lack of cooking skill, as evidenced by the results I achieved from this recipe. 

Trisha recommends using a cast iron skillet for the recipe, which I actually own. What I didn’t consider was the fact that my monster-sized skillet (which is much needed for my monster-sized family) is probably much bigger than the skillet that Trisha used. This resulted in a really flat frittata. I also forgot about lowering the shelf in the oven, so it was broiled very close to the heating coils. That explains the reason why my frittata is more on the black side than golden brown as Trisha suggested.

    
It wasn’t exactly burned, which is a plus. The flavor was decent. I decided against the grape tomatoes. Actually, I forgot them and opted not to make another trip to the store. My onions were sliced instead of finely chopped, but it worked out fine. I didn’t bother to measure the spinach, I just used a whole bag because I love spinach. 

The next morning, I decided to try the recipe out again with a few tweaks. I doubled the recipe and used kale in place of spinach, since I had a boatload of it leftover from another recipe I tried (which will be posted soon). Publix had Baby Bella mushrooms on sale, so I threw those in as well.   

  I subbed goat and cheddar cheeses for the Swiss and this time, I remembered to lower the shelf before broiling. These results were a thousand times better, although I prefer spinach to kale in this dish.

  
If you are a novice like I am and have never attempted a frittata, please give it a go. Anyone can make it if I can, I promise.

 

 

Leave a Reply

