Afsana’s Favorite Things

It has been many moons since I have celebrated a name day. Can you tell I am working my way through the Game of Thrones books? Anyway, I think the last birthday I celebrated was over 20 years ago. I don’t have any plans of starting back up, but I will happily accept gifts from any reader who may be feeling philanthropic this month. Since I haven’t done an “Afsana’s Favorite Things Post”, I figured now would be a good time. 

I have a confession to make: I’ve been bitten by the DIY bug. The problem is that I have no tools. The contents of my tool box consist of a hammer, an electric screwdriver, several manual screwdrivers, a tape measure, and random screws that have fallen out of pieces of furniture that my children have destroyed over the years. Seriously, there’s not even a hand saw in my collection. You can imagine how far I’ll get trying to build a set of bunk beds. So here’s my wish list: 

HomeCraft 14-Amp 10 Inch Miter Saw with Laser

  
 

This saw received pretty high reviews, and is cheaper than many of the other models I looked at. The laser will assist with cutting straight lines and let me tell you, I need all the help I can get. This product sells at Home Depot for $109.

Ryobi Miter Saw Stand

  
I know it’s not the same brand as the actual miter saw, but work with me here. They appear to be compatible and at $99, this was the cheapest I could go without getting something that looked like it had been constructed from Legos.

DeWalt 18 Volt Ni-Cad ½ Inch Compact Drill/Driver Kit

  
I’m all over the place with the brands here. This drill appeared to be a decent price at $99, but what do I know about drill prices? See the description of my toolbox above. The biggest selling point for me is the fact that it’s cordless. With my level of coordination, I would probably trip over a cord and drill a hole into the side of the washing machine by accident. 

Kreg Jig Master System

  
Sure, I could probably just use a drill with a countersink bit for the projects I have in mind, but isn’t this impressive? Just think, the person who owns this system would be the envy of all their DIY friends and Pinterest followers. At $139, it’s not a top priority for me. It would be nice to have, though.

DeWalt 5 Inch Random Orbit Sander

  
Because I can’t have the kids getting splinters on their new bunk beds, can I? It sells for $59 at Home Depot, and got pretty good reviews. AND it comes with a dust collection bag, so Linebacker won’t need his rescue inhaler while I’m using it. 

Brother CS6000i Feature Rich Sewing Machine

  
This isn’t tool related, but I am itching to replace the awful Shark sewing machine I have currently. Why is Shark making sewing machines, anyway? Please leave that to the professionals, Shark. Stick with steam mops. Anyway, I learned about this sewing machine from Mimi G’s blog and when I did some research, it seemed to be exactly what I needed. It’s basic enough for me to be able to work without getting to frustrated, but is capable of sewing more than the straight and zig zag lines I am currently limited to. The best part? Automatic buttonholes, y’all. And this baby is less than $150 on Amazon.

Gingher 8-Inch Knife Edge Dressmaker’s Shears

  
I’m a little embarrassed to say this, but I’m still using the shears that came in the sewing kit my mom bought me a really, really long time ago. And since my kids have gotten their grubby hands on them, they’ve been used to cut way more than just fabric. I’m talking robots made from cardboard boxes. They don’t cut fabric very well anymore. And when I say they don’t cut fabric very well, I mean that I’d get better results from a steak knife. Lately, I’ve taken to using a pair of all-purpose scissors that I usually reserve for coupons. That’s how desperate my situation is. These come with a hefty price tag of $23 but Mimi G said I should get them, so I shall. 

Dritz St. Jane Sewing Basket

  
This is incredibly adorable, and would store all my sewing notions perfectly. Right now, I am using an old container that used to house organic baby spinach. It’s flimsy, and doesn’t hold everything I need it to hold. That’s how my kids got ahold of my sewing shears in the first place.

That concludes this year’s edition of Afsana’s Favorite Things, unless I can think of more things to add to the list. In that event, there will be a sequel.

Leave a Reply

