More of Afsana’s Favorite Things

It’s been a really long time since my last favorite things post, so I figured it was time for another. Instead of featuring stuff I wish random people would buy for me as gifts, I wanted to highlight stuff that I’ve actually tried and loved.

Urban Decay Total Perversion Reloaded
This set comes with Urban Decay’s Perversion mascara, as well as their Perversion Waterproof Fine-Point Pen. I purchased this at a beauty outlet store here in Orlando for $18, but you can find the set at Sephora for $24. I cannot stress enough how worth the price this set is. I have the least impressive eyelashes you will ever have seen in your life, and this makes me do a double-take at my own reflection. It doesn’t irritate my sensitive eyes, either. And the eye pen dries quickly and DOES NOT MOVE once it is in place. You cannot sweat this stuff off. It’s the blackest liner I’ve ever seen, and it even led to my breakup with Bobbi Brown gel liner. Y’all? Get on this. You will not be disappointed.

IMG_5493

Urban Decay After Dark
Unfortunately, this eyeshadow palette was a limited edition and is no longer sold in stores. I mentioned it because it happens to be my favorite palette of all the ones I own. Urban Decay’s shadow is impressively pigmented, and I’ve loved all the ones I have tried. I’ve been experimenting with color a lot lately, and the After Dark palette has been my go to.

IMG_5499

NYX Micro Brow Pencil
My eyebrows have been boycotting my face for as long as I can remember. When I went to Sephora for a makeover a while back, eyebrows were the first thing I requested. And Lucas delivered, by way of an Anastasia brow pencil. I was so excited about having a full set of brows for the first time in my life that I plopped down $21 for that pencil without hesitation. When it ran low, I hesitated before buying another one. Surely, someone had something cheaper than $21. I’m not a cheapskate, but that didn’t sit well with me. I stopped in the NYX store to see what they had to offer, and was pleasantly surprised by their Micro Brow Pencil. At the low price of $10, it’s a staple in my makeup bag. Don’t fret if you don’t have a NYX store near you; you can also grab one at Target or CVS for the same price.

IMG_5497

e.l.f. Shadow Lock Eyelid Primer
I had been using Smashbox’s Photo Finish Lid Primer in Medium, and was perfectly happy with it as long as I stuck with a neutral eyeshadow palette. When I started experimenting with colors more, I realized I needed something a little more transparent. Not wanting to spend another $21 on a lighter shade, I stopped at my local Target and picked up a tube of e.l.f. Shadow Lock Eyelid Primer for $2.00. $2.00, y’all! And it is fantastic. My eyeshadow stays put all day long over this primer, and I have no desire to try anything else. Sure it may dry out fairly quickly, but it was TWO DOLLARS. I think I can justify buying a new tube every month.

IMG_5498
NYX Eyeshadow Base
I use Nyx’s Eyeshadow Base in black and let me tell you, it intensifies the heck out of any color. If you have colors that you love during the daytime, but want to make them work at night too, pop some of this underneath. It takes it to a whole new level. For $7.00, what have you got to lose?

IMG_5494

NYX Butter Gloss
When I had my makeover at Sephora, Lucas used Tarte’s Tartiest Glossy Lip Pain in Snap, which is sort of a nude mauve. I really liked it, but passed on the $20.00 price tag. After searching high and low for a dupe, I decided to try NYX Butter Gloss in Gingersnap. It’s not an exact match, but pretty darned close. And for $5.00, I’m not stressing over the slight variation.

IMG_5496
NYX Soft Matte Lip Cream
Can you tell how much I love NYX products? Anywho, sometimes I want to look like an adult, so I opt for a matte lip instead of a glossy one. Some matte lipsticks leave my lips super sticky, but this one doesn’t at all. Sure, it dries the stew out of your lips just like any other matte liquid lipstick. But throw some lip balm on first, and you’ll be fine. After combing through Instagram for color inspiration, I found myself drawn to Kylie Jenner’s liquid lipstick in Brown Sugar. Not wanting to pay Kylie Jenner prices for a lipstick that I may not actually like in person, I searched for a dupe and came up with NYX’s Soft Matte Lip Cream in the color Dubai. It has some impressive staying power, and I love the color and texture. And the price, which happens to be $6.00.

IMG_5495

Bath & Body Works Body Cream
This is the ONLY moisturizer I use on my body. It’s effective, and smells amazing. It can be a little pricey at $13.00 per tube, but I have never, ever paid full price. Get on their mailing list and get coupons in the mail on a regular basis, y’all. And, their huge semi-annual sale is happening right now. RIGHT NOW! If you’re on the mailing list, you likely received a coupon for $10 off of $40, which will go a long way with this sale. Their classic scents are out of the vault starting at only $3.25, and many of the newer scents are on sale for $6.25. For anyone struggling to think of what to buy for my birthday next month, some of my favorite scents are Pink Cashmere, Sheer Cotton & Lemonade, and Brown Sugar & Fig. Just throwing that out there.

IMG_5500

Inglot O2M Breathable Nail Enamel
Before we pray, Muslims are required to wash themselves. Water has to be able to touch all surfaces and for that reason, Muslim women had to reserve nail polish for that “special “ time of the month, at least until recently. There are now a few water permeable nail polishes on the market, including Maya and Tuesday in Love. I have only ever tried Inglot O2M, and I am so thankful for it. I have the ugliest toes on the face of the earth, and nail polish makes them bearable to look at. It’s a bit pricey at $16.00 per bottle, but Orly recently showed up on the scene at about half the price. I plan to check that brand out soon, and will report back with my results.

IMG_5502

That’s all I have for now, but I may have a sequel for you as more products come to mind.

Leave a Reply

